Heaven

August 19, 2009

Tonight after his bedtime bottle, I zipped our little Max into his snuggly fleece SleepSack.  His big blue eyes were looking deep into my squinty blue eyes, even through our very heavy eyelids.  He was sucking on his pacifier, crumpling up his burp cloth in both hands when he let the pacifier fall from his lips.  Just as I was expecting him to start fussing, he lifted both hands up in that adorable shaky infant way and gently touched my face, just below my lips.  Then he gave me the most subtle, sweet smile, closed his eyes, and let his hands fall to his chest as he drifted to sleep. 

Suddenly all of my worries, frustrations, and stress from the day (week, month, etc.) just melted away.  Those five seconds with my son did more for my mental well-being than any little “happy” pill or 4 moderately strong cocktails ever could.   

Kerry

8 Responses to “Heaven”

  1. Jodi said

    That is so sweet, what a beautiful moment between a mom and her son. It only gets better! My little guy will be three and is so sweet. Just wait until the kisses start, they are the best!

  2. Teresa said

    I know what you mean. I absolutely love those moments. Enjoy, it just keeps getting better.

  3. That is really sweet. My eyes started to well up. Definitely cherish those moments.

  4. allysonwonderland said

    Awww- that is so adorable! Isn’t being a mom the best?

  5. Heather said

    I love their sweet little ways of telling you how much they love you. Being a momma can be so tough, but moments like that put it all into perspective.

  6. krazykids said

    I can’t wait for those moments

  7. mrsleibo said

    How beautiful. 🙂

  8. Steph said

    OMG I am so crying at work!! Thanks honey for the update.

Leave a Reply

