Nebraska trip

August 11, 2009

First of all, thank you to everyone who wished us a Happy Conception Day both on here, via email, and on Facebook – you guys are the best!  Secondly, why didn’t anyone warn us how hard it was going to be to travel with two infants?!?!  Third (and this is for all of my Nebraska peeps), we got to eat at Runza (twice) AND Valentino’s – how jealous are you? 
Anyway…I’m glad we made it back in one piece.  Here’s a short synopsis of our weekend, since I know most of you check here for pictures, and not my boring commentary.  =)

We left on Thursday afternoon, and ended up staying the night in North Platte, NE (about 4 hours away).  My old college roommate (one of the many I had through the years) offered up her home to us, which took a lot of guts considering she and her husband have 3 kids of their own – and a dog!  We had a lot of fun with Stacey, Jason, and the kiddos – and I think they enjoyed having Max and Wes there, too.  I don’t think Rex will ever be the same though…their middle child, Sydnee, was OBSESSED with chasing him around the house, carrying him from room to room, and generally annoying him.  LOL!  Poor Rexy!  It was hilarious though, she (and Skyler and Connor) are about the cutest little ones EVER.  Thanks again to Jason and Stacey for letting us stay the night (and to Connor for involuntarily giving up his crib), and thanks for the yummy monkey bread and coffee, Stace!

Sydnee and Skyler (feeding Wes)
Skyler and Max
Skyler and Max
Connor being a cutie
Connor being a cutie

Friday morning we headed to Nebraska, where we stayed with Jeff’s cousin, Eric, his wife Kira, and Eric’s 6 year old son, Trenton.  Trent was soooo excited that “the twins” were coming to stay with him, but he was mostly interested in Rex, who I have to say – was a perfect little pup on this trip.  I should have gotten some pictures of Rex and Trent playing together – they were so cute! 

My sister and Joel came to Lincoln on Saturday to watch their favorite nephews while we attended Grandpa Al’s funeral service, burial, and luncheon.  The funeral service was really nice – Jeff’s aunt Virginia gave Jeff’s grandpa (her father) the most touching (eulogy) tribute about having a purpose in life, and I have to say that her words really inspired me to make a few changes in my life.  Thanks for that, Virginia and Grandpa Al! 

Oh, and something really exciting happened while we were staying with Eric, Kira, and Trent – Wes FINALLY rolled over from his back to his tummy!!!!!  Now both of our boys are rolling from tummy to back, and from back to tummy, with no problem at all – YAY!!!

Eric and Max
Eric and Max
Trent stealing the spotlight!
Trent stealing the spotlight!
Aunt Kristy and Wes waking up from a nap
Aunt Kristy and Wes waking up from a nap
Max loves his Aunt Kristy!
Max loves his Aunt Kristy!
Wes looking so proud of himself
Wes looking so proud of himself – “I rolled over Mama!”
Both Max and Wes have been playing with their toes lately
Both Max and Wes have been playing with their toes lately

After a short nap taken by all of us, we all headed over to Jeff’s aunt and uncle’s house for pizza, beer, and wine.  It was somewhat of a family reunion as all of Jeff’s siblings were there, and several of our nieces and nephews were there, too.  It was the first time (ever) that all 11 of the cousins have been together, the first time we’ve seen Brett and Molly’s twin girls since they were in the hospital, and the first time we’ve had all three sets of twins in our family together for a photo op.  Needless to say, there were a LOT of cameras out and flashing up a storm!  Thanks so much for hosting, Jim and Georgianne (and thanks for the Valentino’s pizza and great recommendation on that jug wine)!!!

Oh, and for those who are wondering how I got through the night with everyones’ hands all over Max and Wes…wine.  A lot of wine.  Apparently asking people to use hand sanitizer is offensive, so I just drank enough that I didn’t really care anymore.  =)

Jenna with Wes, Regan, Drew, and Amanda with Max
Jenna with Wes, Regan, Drew, and Amanda with Max
The 11 cousins - (l to r) Pete, Jeff, Charlotte, Eric, Jim, Molly, John, Gertchen, Greg, Jill, and Marty
The 11 cousins – (l to r) Pete, Jeff, Charlotte, Eric, Jim, Molly, John, Gretchen, Greg, Jill, and Marty
Jenna (aka "The Baby Whisperer") holding Weston
Jenna (aka “The Baby Whisperer”) holding Weston
Kevin holding a sleeping Maxwell
Kevin holding a sleeping Maxwell
Brett and Molly with Drew and Regan (can you believe those girls are preemies?)
Brett and Molly with Drew and Regan (can you believe those girls are preemies?)
Marty with (a tired) Ash
Marty with (a tired) Ash
Mabel mastering the stairs
Mabel mastering the stairs
Jim and I being silly...well, me being silly
Jim and I being silly…well, me being silly

Sunday was not fun.  What is normally a 7 hour car ride for Jeff and I turned into a 10.5 hour car ride with us and our three boys.  If we could have just gotten Max, Wes, and Rex on the same potty/poopy schedule, it would have been a whole lot easier, but alas, we made it home in one piece.  We did stop twice (while following Marty, LeAnn, and Asher closely) for some breaks so that the little ones could stretch their legs and take in some fresh air – and in doing that got some REALLY great pics of Max, Wes, and Ash (these are the photos I was talking about, Mom)!

My three boys (and Jeff's feet)

My three boys (and Jeff's feet)

Max!

Max!

Wes!

Wes!

Ash!

Ash!

Asher with Uncle Jeff

Asher with Uncle Jeff

Kerry

8 Responses to “Nebraska trip”

  1. twodaisies said

    Great pics!

    And I’m totally jealous about your having Runza twice! I only got it once the last time I was home.

  2. Molly S said

    OMG we are famous!!! Thanks for posting the pictures. I’m so jealous of the great pictures you guys take. It was great to see all of you. Just three more months until we meet again! And in case I was regretting the money spent on plane tickets for Thanksgiving, your depiction of a car ride with twins assures me I did the right thing. 🙂

  3. Auntie Barb said

    I’m so glad you made it there and back safely. the picture of ALL of the cousins was neat to see.

  4. It looks like you guys had a complete blast.

  5. angelika05 said

    That one of your three boys is sooooooooooo cute!

  6. Carla said

    Hi! So cute- are you willing to share where you found that “Daddy’s helper” onesie? It’s adorable!

  7. Meghan said

    The boys are getting so big!!

    I LOVE Runza. I don’t know if you’re in northern CO much but there is a Runza in Loveland!! Every time I go to Ft. Collins we go there:)

  8. Beth Moore said

    I absolutely am jealous of the Runza and Valentino’s!!! I miss that!!

    And, I would have told you about how much traveling with kids sucks, but you wouldn’t have believed me. It’s a joy you have to experience for yourself.

    I miss you!!

Leave a Reply

