Uncle Joel!!!

August 5, 2009

My brother-in-law, Joel, is in Colorado for a conference this week, and he had a few free hours last night, so he took us out for dinner at Rock Bottom (thanks Bro!).  He hadn’t seen Max and Wes since they were on oxygen (and a LOT smaller), so he nearly died when he saw how big and smiley they were.  It was so cute seeing him interact with them!

We’ll get to see Joel and my sis this weekend while we’re back in Nebraska for Grandpa Al’s funeral (they are watching the boys while we’re at the funeral, burial, and lunch on Saturday), so we’re looking forward to that.  We wish it were under better circumstances, but are also looking forward to introducing Max and Wes to the rest of the Mastera family, including Jeff’s Grandma Bea.

I am feeling a little bit anxious because there will be soooo many people around (which means lots of hands on our little guys).  I guess it’s better that it’s summertime, which means it’s not RSV season, which means the chance of the boys catching something is a lot less likely.  But – as parents of preemies, we still have to worry about them getting sick – even catching the slightest whiff of a cold could put them back in the hospital (or back on oxygen, or whatever).

Yes, I took my happy pills today – I guess I’m just a little freaked out to travel seven hours in a small car with two infants and a broken dog.  If you see me rushing toward you with a bottle of hand sanitizer, do me a favor and just put a little on.  =)  For all of you preemie parents out there – any tips or suggestions for us for the long weekend are welcome and very much appreciated!

Giving Wes a kiss on his big bald head

Joel with a very serious-looking Max

Joel with a very serious-looking Max

Kerry

3 Responses to “Uncle Joel!!!”

  1. Kristy said

    Humph! No fair! But I am glad he got to see his adorable little nephews again! Can’t wait to see you guys this weekend! Wish it was under better circumstances 😦

    XOXO

  2. Ondrea said

    maybe you can make sanitizer necklaces for the boys to wear?? sorry for the circumstances of your trip. I’m sure it will go well!

  3. Christy said

    Hi! I stumbled across your blog through a preemies website. My husband and I have boy-girl preemie twins that were born at 30 weeks on March 3. I’ve enjoyed your blog and seeing what your cute boys are up to. And I totally understand about the germs thing. We are just now easing into public – our little girl was tiny and is just now reaching the 8 pound mark so she can’t afford at all to get sick. Every time I ask our pediatrician about going out or being around people he says “You have the right to be paranoid. And if anyone tells you you’re being overprotective just tell them you don’t want to go back to the hospital.” I know that’s not any great advice because we haven’t had our preemies around that many people yet, but it at least makes me feel better when I wonder if I’m totally freaking out or being too crazy. You don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings but it’s so much more important that our babies that we worked so hard for stay well! Hope your trip goes well and the boys stay well.

Leave a Reply

