Long time, no post

August 3, 2009

Jeff went back to work last Monday after taking 12 weeks off (FMLA leave) to stay home with Max and Wes.  It was a bittersweet week, to say the least.  Bittersweet in that Jeff really loved his gig as a stay-at-home-dad, and really did not want to go back to work after experiencing the SAHD lifestyle – but- we really, really, really need to be a two-income household in order to make things a little less stressful.  Because we completely drained our bank accounts (and got ourselves into a little bit of credit card debt) to give IVF a shot, we need to both be bringing home the bacon in order to try to build our savings up again. 

We’ve gotten through the first week of our new routine with no major road blocks, and I’m happy to report that I think this is going to work out great for us!  We hired a nanny, Jessie, to watch the boys two days a week (and every other Friday), and our sister-in-law, LeAnn, will be watching them the other two days a week (and every other Friday).  I love this set-up because Max and Wes will get equal time at home with all of their toys, books, etc. and with their favorite cousin and his wonderful mommy.  Jessie is SO good with the boys, and has been such a great addition to our family – she actually used to nanny for another family with twin girls, so that makes me a lot less concerned that she’ll be able to handle Max and Wes.  LeAnn was also a nanny for several families (before Asher was born), and she is amazing with children.  Ash is soooo smart (and polite, I might add), and we’re so excited for the time our boys will have with him and LeAnn – I can’t imagine all of the fun things they will learn from each other!

Friday night through Sunday afternoon I was alone with the boys, while Jeff was away on a camping weekend for Rich’s bachelor party, and it went really well.  We had a really busy weekend, and while I missed Jeff’s help (and his company), it was really nice to have some time alone with our little guys.  Jeff’s folks were kind enough to watch Max and Wes on Saturday morning while I got my hair done (finally), AND Saturday night so I could go to Tiffany’s bridal shower and bachelorette party.  I got to visit an old buddy (we’ve known each other since middle school) and her 9 year-old twin girls (and her dad, who I hadn’t seen in probably 10+ years) on Friday night, had lunch with my good friend, Molly (and the boys), on Saturday afternoon, and visited with both my friends, Tom and Melissa, on Sunday.

Some pictures from the week will include some time we spent with Mary and Melissa (friends from cooking club) and pictures from Friday night spent with Kresha, her dad, and her girls.  Thanks to Mary for bringing me some beautiful flowers and a super yummy cake, and thanks to Melissa for bringing us a gift card and two ADORABLE onesies for the boys!  There’s also a video of Max rolling from his back to his tummy (which Melissa got to witness last night)!  In other news, both boys are now rolling from their tummy to their back during tummy time (happened for the first time today for Wes at Aunt LeAnn’s – YAY), and I think they are both going to start getting teeth soon because they drool constantly.  Yikes.  I don’t know if I’m ready for our babies to have teeth yet!

Mary, Addi, and Mailea holding the Wes and Max

Mary, Addi, and Maleia holding the Wes and Max

 

Kresha holding Maxwell

Kresha holding Maxwell

 

Darius (Kresha's dad) trying to figure out Weston

Darius (Kresha's dad) trying to figure out Weston

 

The girls cuddling Max - aren't they ADORABLE?!?!

The girls cuddling Max - aren't they ADORABLE?!?!

 

The girls being silly with Max

The girls being silly with Max

 

Mary holding a sleeping Wes

Mary holding a sleeping Wes

 

Melissa holding a curious Max

Melissa holding a curious Max

 

Did I mention I met Howie from the Alice Morning show?

Did I mention I met Howie from the Alice Morning show?

And finally, Max rolling over (from back to tummy) last night.  =)

Kerry

6 Responses to “Long time, no post”

  1. Tara said

    I miss my little buddies. And my big buddy, too. 🙂

  2. Sara said

    Great pics! The boys are so cute!!

  3. krazykids said

    Sounds like a great childcare situation.

  4. angelika said

    Wow – you are alot nicer than I am. I would NOT have been smiling in that picture with Howie.

    Boys are looking G.O.O.D per the usual!

  5. Beth said

    You are one busy woman.
    why did I think Howie was an older ugly dude?

  6. lilcyndiluwho said

    THAT’s Howie??? WOW. He looks nothing like I would have though. Crazy.

    Adorable pics!! I haven’t seen you in forever. I hope you’re gonna make the next CC.

Leave a Reply

