The Comeback Kid

July 24, 2009

When we were trying to get pregnant, I always tried to have an arsenal of sarcastic or funny (or inappropriate) comebacks to all of the questions from family and friends about when we were going to have kids.  It never ceased to amaze me how personal some of the questions were, yet I always answered them with a (sometimes fake) smile.

When we finally got pregnant, amazingly the questions didn’t stop – AND – they got more personal and nosy.  If I had a dollar for every time someone asked me if I was going to breastfeed or if I was planning on having a vaginal delivery, we could have paid off our IVF debt by now!  Ridiculous.

Now that we have Max and Wes, it seems we are STILL answering questions all the time when we’re out and about.  Most of the questions are just from curious people, and we totally understand that twins (and multiples in general) are fascinating, so it’s not that big of a deal.  However, there is one question that always blows my mind when we’re out with the boys…

Twins?”

While I know it’s totally possible that a family could have more than one baby and they not be twins (for example, if they had a biological child and an adopted child of around the same age), I can’t help but want to point out our massive double stroller, the fact that they’re relatively the same size, or their similar facial features/expressions.  Alas, I would never do that to a total stranger.  What would I do, you ask?  Give them a response that will confuse them even more…

No … (long pause) … clones (shaking my head up and down in a matter-of-fact manner)”

Kerry

9 Responses to “The Comeback Kid”

  1. Kim said

    Clones…Now thats funny

  2. Steph said

    I almost peed my pants!!

  3. lanielove1 said

    You are evil!

  4. Sock said

    Outstanding answer!!!!! (that is so freaking funny!)

  5. Erica said

    I love you. Fantastic!

  6. Marci said

    I love it! You are the best!

  7. Carla said

    Hey- I wrote to you a while back…I’m an IVF grad as well currently carrying twins and now that I am breaking the news as I am in the second trimester I am constantly amazed at the CRAP that flies out of mouths. I had the following questions from a random restuarant hostess: “how far along?…oh you’re big for 3 months…oh twins??? are they natural??” Yes, moron…they are NATURALLY my children, NATURALLY growing inside me! And everyone is trying to do poor math and science in their heads trying to figure out how twins run in my family. Argh! Oh well…I’d rather be dealing with this obviously than a 4th round of IVF! But people are AMAZING! Your boys are adorable and your writing is wonderfully entertaining! best wishes! Carla…

  8. Noell said

    It’s amazing how out to lunch people can be!
    (Adding to the list of tactless comments I’m getting now–at 24 weeks pregnant with my 3rd baby–“Are you having twins? You’re pretty big.” and “You’re not due until November? I was thinking you were due in 2 weeks.” All comments from new moms nonetheless!)

Leave a Reply

