What a great day!!!

July 20, 2009

We had such a fantastic time in Cañon City and Colorado Springs today!  As most families with an infant (or infants) know, it’s almost impossible to get out of the house in a timely manner when you have to remember (and then double-check that you have) everything.  Well, we were one of those families today.  We had planned on being on the road by 10 a.m. in order to have plenty of time before the 12:30 train departure.  As luck would have it, our gas tank was almost on empty and the gas station we chose to go to had a line of people waiting for gas.  D’oh!  By the time we got to the interstate, it was about 10:40.  Oops.  Needless to say, we missed the train – literally (by about 5 minutes, darn it!).

We decided to make our trip worthwhile and go to the Royal Gorge Bridge and Park instead.  It was so much fun!!!  We walked across the world’s highest suspension bridge with the boys in tow, and got a great workout to boot.  We got some great scenic photos while we were out, and we left in just the nick of time as it started raining about 3 minutes after we left the parking lot.  Whew – close call!

View of the suspension bridge from where we had lunch

View of the suspension bridge from where we had lunch

Another view of the bridge and the beautiful mountains

Another view of the bridge and the beautiful mountains

Our family on the Royal Gorge bridge

Our family on the Royal Gorge bridge

"A-a-a-a-achoo!"

"A-a-a-a-achoo!"

A funny picture of Max - doesn't he just look "over it" all?

A funny picture of Max - doesn't he just look "over it" all?

Can you see "John F. Kennedy" Mountain in this picture?

Can you see "John F. Kennedy" Mountain in this picture?

Jeff and I on the bridge

Jeff and I on the bridge

The view from our car a few minutes after we left the park

The view from our car a few minutes after we left the park

After we left Cañon City, we headed to the Springs to meet up with one of my best buddies, Daniel (a.k.a. Hauss, who was a bridesman in our wedding) and an old (online) friend who we’d actually never met before.  Shay (militarywifealways on the TTTC board on the Nest) has been such an incredible source of support to Jeff, I, Max, and Wes (and Rex, she never forgets about Rex) over the past few months, all while dealing with the (second) deployment of her husband and dealing with infertility and incompetent doctors.  We were so glad to finally meet her tonight!

Hauss and Weston

Hauss and Weston

Shay and I

Shay and I

Okay, I have to get  back to my margarita now.  I could get used to this whole not working thing!  Alas, tomorrow is my “Sunday” as I’m back to work on Wednesday – Jeff and I plan on having another full day of fun tomorrow!  I’m sure there will be details and pictures to follow…good night!

Kerry

5 Responses to “What a great day!!!”

  1. Tiffany said

    I love the pics!!! My stupid phone does not get picture messages so I was bummed I could not see the one yesterday! So glad you guys had a wonderful day. Enjoy your day today. Lots of love!

  2. Kristy said

    What a fun day! The boys look properly pooped, and I’m sure you were, too! Hope you got to have another adventure today. Love, sis

  3. DeAnna said

    I love the pic of all four of you–what a cute little family!

  4. Lynne Verbeek said

    Love the family pic on the bridge — you look like such PARENTS holding those big babies. They get cuter every photo.

  5. militarywifealways said

    Hmmm I thought I left a message earlier I guess my phone does not like me blogging on it……
    I love the kiddos hats if only I could find such fashionable protection gear. I had a ball meeting you guys we will have to do it again :0) I told my DH how Jeff surprised me even these pictures do him no justice ha ha ha

Leave a Reply

