On the go!

June 14, 2009

We’ve had quite the eventful weekend! 

Friday night, Jeff and I were feeling a little stir crazy, so we decided to pack up Max and Wes and take them to dinner – at a bar (and no, you cannot smoke in bars in Colorado anymore, we wouldn’t have taken them anywhere where they would have been exposed to smoke).  We obviously have no idea what’s going on in the outside world, as the bar was PACKED for Game 7 of the NHL playoffs.  Oopsie!  Thankfully, we knew a few people at the bar (I used to work there), so we just stood around and chatted with our friends while we waited (for what seemed like forever) for a table to leave so we could sit down and eat.  We got a few shady looks and comments, but maybe that was me just being over-sensitive – there were a lot of other infants and children in the bar during the game.  And it’s not like Jeff and I were getting tanked, doing shots, and staying out until 11 – we were having dinner, and we were out of there by around 9:15.  When we were getting ready to pay the bill, a couple in their early 20’s walked by, and the girl said, “look…they have a baby…in a bar” (most of you know that quote from the movie Sweet Home Alabama), in a very sarcastic, unpleasant tone.  I was tempted to say, “no, actually we have TWO babies – what do you think about that?”  I didn’t.  =)  Here are a few pics of Wes and Max before we left…

(sorry for the red eye)

(sorry for the red eye)

DSC_0062

DSC_0063

Saturday, I had a great morning – a haircut with my absolute favorite stylist ever and a super relaxing pedicure afterwards.  It was heavenly to have that time to myself (thanks honey)!  Later yesterday afternoon, my good friends, Beth and Matt, came over to spend some time with the boys.  Beth hadn’t seen them since they were on oxygen, and Matt had never met them before.  Max just loved his uncle Matt, and Wes was a perfect angel for his auntie Beth.  They both ended up crashing out while Beth and Matt were over, and I had to take that opportunity to take a picture of little Max…

Matt holding a sleeping Max

Matt holding a sleeping Max

Beth with an ornery Wes

Beth with an ornery Wes

Last night, we went over to our friends, Laura and Lee’s, house for dinner.  We had a fantastic meal, yummy dessert, and great conversation.  It was fun to play with their little boys (Adin is 3 and Ryan is 1.5), and see how much fun Max and Wes are going to be when they get a little older.  Thanks so much you guys – we can’t wait to do it again!

This morning I took the boys to a friend’s house for a get together/playdate with other moms and babies who are also the products of fertility treatments.  It was so fun (and man am I bummed that I forgot my camera)!  I finally got to meet my cycle buddy, Lanie’s, little ones (Justice and Sydney), and boy are they adorable – I got smiles from both of them, I was so excited!  I also met Lisa and her one year old twin girls (Hannah and Sophie), and met Shelley’s two boys (Dylan and Jason).  I saw my friend Kiane again (she hadn’t seen the boys since they were in the NICU), and finally met her 7.5 month old, Dylan.  We spent about 3 hours there, and aside from a minor meltdown from Wes (he was hungry), it went pretty darn good!  I can’t wait to meet up with everyone again…and thanks for hosting, Shell!

This afternoon I’ve kept busy putting most of Max and Wes’s newborn clothing away and washing their 3 month onesies, shorts, t-shirts, and outfits.  Max is still wearing some newborn clothes, but Wes is definitely in 3 (or even 3-6) month clothes – they’re growing up so fast!!!

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

Kerry

7 Responses to “On the go!”

  1. Katie said

    Violet comes with us to Breck Brewery every Saturday for lunch and *gasp* sits AT the bar with us. Of course it’s never very busy, and as soon as she is more mobile we won’t do it anymore, but I would never judge someone for doing that!

  2. Kristy said

    Sounds like a great weekend! Glad you and the boys are out enjoying the world!

  3. militarywifealways said

    You had the babies in a bar *gasp* LOL. Sounds like you had an awesome weekend.

  4. Heather said

    I love the pictures of the two of them together! You can really start to see their individual personalities shine through. And how fun to be able to go out with your little family! :o)

  5. Beth said

    I’ve only commented a few times but have been following your blog for quite a while, BUT what a small freaking world. I totally know Laura and Lee. I was at their boys’ birthday party a few months ago.;)

  6. LeAnn said

    Holy cow! Max looks a lot like Asher in these pics!! Too cute!

  7. Eric said

    Jeff better hope that bar wasn’t America’s!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

