Week in review

May 1, 2009

My first week back to work was a rough one.  I shouldn’t have expected it to be easy as I haven’t worked in almost four months, but boy is it hard to work on basically no sleep with two needy babies at home.  My Mom was a God send, basically caring for the boys all day long (after helping us with the 2 a.m. and 6 a.m. feedings), with me only stepping in when both boys needed something.  I couldn’t have done it without you Mom, so THANKS!!!  I hope you’re out having a well-deserved margarita with Aunt Jan as I write this.

I think the thing I’m most anxious about for next week, when I actually have to start driving to Broomfield (about a 45-60 minute commute each way), is the fact that I’m not getting a lot of sleep.  I have visions of falling asleep at the wheel, and that scares the bejesus out of me.  Thankfully, work has been busy enough that I’m not freaked out to fall asleep at my desk (but if I do, I’m sure one of my work buddies will be happy to kick me in the shin to wake me up).  =)

Speaking of work, I can’t tell you how incredibly lucky I am to still have my job (after several rounds of layoffs and me being the “newbie”), and to have such amazing insurance through them.  I got an email from United Healthcare outlining our “Explanation of Benefits” for the boys’ NICU stay, and O.M.G. I nearly died seeing how much the “Billed Amount” was for the boys’ hospitalization.  I stopped counting when I got over $1.2 million.  Wowsa.

Some of you commented on Jeff’s previous post, telling us that if Wes is hungry, we should feed him as much as he wants.  I’m only clarifying because I don’t want you to think we would ever withhold food from our boys if they were hungry.  We are under orders from the boys’ pediatrician to stay within certain limits with regards to how much they eat in a day.  The main reason being they are just now the size of a newborn, therefore they have newborn-sized tummies.  Can you imagine a week old baby eating 4.5 ounces every four hours (which is what Wes is up to now)?  I hope that makes sense.

I also went to the doctor this week to talk with my OB about post-partum depression (PPD), and I’m happy to announce that I’ve started taking medication in hopes that I will be feeling more like myself very soon.  The good news is, I’m not depressed all the time – I just want to get rid of the horrible mood fluctuations that have me super high one minute, and feeling as low as it gets the next.  I want to be the wife that Jeff deserves, and the mommy I’ve always imagined to be to Max & Wes.  And I don’t want to cry anymore.  I HATE crying – and waterproof mascara hurts my eyes – it’s too sticky.

I forgot to update on the March of Dimes March for Babies event – I was so bummed that the weather took a turn for the worse last Saturday, but I’m so happy to tell you all that Team Weemmax helped raise over $2000!!!!  My generous readers, family, and friends accounted for over half of that, so thank you, thank you, thank you to those of you who donated!  And thanks to Ivory for putting our team together, and for being the only one on our team to brave the weather that day with her sweet girl, Emma.  You rock, buddy!

I’m feeling a little scatterbrained, so I apologize if this post isn’t very cohesive.  I’ll leave you for the night with a few cute sleepy baby pictures…

A sleepy Max in grammy's arms

A sleepy Max in grammy's arms

Wes doing his "Pope" pose in the bouncy chair

Wes doing his "Pope" pose in the bouncy chair

Kerry

3 Responses to “Week in review”

  1. militarywifealways said

    I must be scatter brained too because I totally understood eveything :0) I am glad your starting to feel a little better I think your an awesome wife and mom :0)

  2. LVBlvd said

    Just caught up on your blog…your boys are beautiful, and you are doing such an amazing job! Thank God for insurance – that is just insane! I wish you the best of luck returning to work, and am so happy you have the help of your mom. You have been through so much, I am proud of you for hanging in there like you have! And good for you for reaching out for help. I am glad I got to catch up with what has been going on, and excited to keep reading your updates!

  3. Molly said

    I hope you start feeling better soon honey! And I want to take you to lunch someday soon as soon as you’re feeling up to it. It’ll help your workday go by faster!

Leave a Reply

