How much can a baby really eat?

April 30, 2009

Ok, so last night was a little rough.  It probably wasn’t the worst night to date, but it was high on the list.  After the boys 10 p.m. feeding, Max went down like a sack of bricks, as usual.  Wes, however, would not fall asleep.  We held him, rocked him, and swaddled him, all to no avail.  Finally, at about 12:15 a.m. he fell asleep.  Fast forward to 2 a.m.  I changed Max first and he was as sweet as could be.  Then it was Wes’s turn, and boy did he let me know he wasn’t happy!  I barely got his diaper off and he is screaming bloody murder, enough to wake Kerry.  No amount of shooshing or his wubbanub would calm him down.  Being wide awake, Kerry jumped up and ran to get his bottle which immediately calmed him down.  Since she was up anyway she helped me with their feeding, and then we were back to square one.  Max was lights out, Wes was wide awake.  Kerry held him for a while and he kind of fell asleep, just enough for us to get back in to bed.  That was 2:50 a.m.  At 3:15 a.m. he started fussing again, so I jumped out of bed and held him until we both fell asleep in the chair in our room.   Once I was confident he was out cold I put him back into the bassinet.  He didn’t make another peep while I was trying to fall asleep, but from the looks of Kerry this morning he must not have stayed down long.  We are already feeding him 4 oz every 4 hours, which is as much as the bottles hold, at least the bottles we have.  We saw 8.5oz bottles at King Soopers the other night and I am thinking we will be moving to those very soon (at least for Wes).  I can’t imagine that his stomach could hold any more than that, but Kerry is going to call Dr. Brandon today to ask.

Hopefully it is just that he is growing super fast and he needs the extra amount.  While we don’t want him to be the fattest baby on the block, we obviously want him to be happy.

 Jeff

6 Responses to “How much can a baby really eat?”

  1. jill said

    bless your hearts! my little chunk went from 3 to 5 ounces almost over night! and then we stayed at 5 until she was almost 9 months old. weird. i am so impressed by the way you guys work together!!! how blessed your boys are to have such rockstar parents!!!!

  2. Beth M said

    Hey!!! What’s wrong with having the fattest baby on the block, huh?? Lily demands an apology. =D

  3. Sock said

    Gosh…your boys are as different as night and day! Wes either has a voracious appetite or he’s going to be a night owl. It does sound like a rough night, and it won’t be the last one. Babies are like that, and it’s harder since you have twins. Takes me back to when my sis and I lived together for a few years and her kids were little. They got strep a lot for a year or two and we had lots of nights with one or both of them fussing. Some nights my sis slept through it and I had kid duty. Some nights both kids were fussing and we were both up rocking kids until they fell back to sleep finally. Based on just those couple of years, I really feel for you. And unfortunately it’s part of the parenthood trip.

    I do hope Wes finds a happy place soon where he’ll sleep more of the night. There does come a time when they start sleeping most of the night…hang in there until you reach that point. ((HUGS))

  4. Nancy said

    If Wes was breastfeeding, you wouldn’t have a clue how much he was eating. He’d just eat till he was full. So why should it be different with a bottle? He’ll know when he’s done. If that takes a bigger bottle, it’s time to go shopping!

  5. Marcy said

    Who cares how much they eat………..feed him. Once you start enjoying them sleeping all night………they turn into teenagers. ;o) Enjoy them…….it is amazing how little sleep one can function on……..Marcy

  6. Noell said

    Let me just say I had no idea that a baby could pack away as much breastmilk & food until I had our little boy! Last night he polished more meatloaf than both my stepdad & Mark combined and he’s only 11 months old!! I’m convinced it’s a boy thing!
    I hope all of you get more sleep tonight! Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

