Back to reality

April 28, 2009

So, I started back to work yesterday (I’m working from home this week, back in the office next week), which is why there wasn’t a 10 week update/picture.  It’s back to reality after being away from work for four long months, and boy was yesterday fun  (insert sarcasm).  Apparently my hard drive crashed (at work), so I wasn’t able to remotely access my work desktop pretty much all day long, which made it hard to “work from home”.  LOL!  I spent a good part of the day on the phone or on IM with our overseas IT Help Desk, which was SUPER frustrating (as there is a HUGE language barrier there), but 10 hours later and I had my remote desktop restored! 

It feels weird being back at work, but it also feels good.  For so many months I have been focused 100% on my pregnancy, keeping myself and the babies healthy and safe, and then on the boys while they were in the hospital.  It feels nice to be focused on something else for a change, and I’m really looking forward to seeing all (okay, most) of my co-workers again!  Getting back into a world filled with adult interaction and something other than spit up, crying, and poop will be a welcome distraction from my new job as a Mommy.  That’s not to say that I won’t miss Max and Wes terribly, because I know I will, but I’m so glad that they will be able to spend some quality time (3 months) with their Daddy while he’s on leave from work.  We are so blessed that we are able to (kind of) afford for Jeff to take this time off unpaid (thanks to our hefty tax refund from writing off our medical expenses from last year). 

I promise to get the boys’ 10 week pictures up on the blog later tonight, so check back then!

Kerry

3 Responses to “Back to reality”

  1. Stacy said

    I was thinking about you today and ment to send you a message on FB. However I am still at work (ugh!) and figured I would just reply here. Glad to hear that your first day “back” brought some good feelings – I am learning all of these adjustments through you. I go back in your blog to see what you were feeling and going through to see if what I am feeling is “normal” – so thank you!

  2. militarywifealways said

    can they extend your work from home time that would be awesome? Hopefully those at work you don’t want to interact with will be gone by the time you reach the office

  3. krazykids said

    Good luck with your first few days back at work

Leave a Reply

