Just wondering

April 20, 2009

As I was pumping and catching up with my old friend, Mr. Google Reader (if you read more than one blog and don’t have Google Reader, you are seriously missing out), I came across post #151 (yes, I actually read thatmany blogs) from my good friend, Cyndi (great blogger BTW, you should check her out…and comment!).  She was wondering why the heck she got so many hits on her blog, and barely any comments, and I commented that I often wondered the same thing.  On a normal day, our blog gets anywhere from 500-800 hits, and on big days (where y’all know something exciting is happening, when we promise pictures, etc) we get closer to 1000 hits in one day.  We’re very lucky that we get so many comments (we LOVE comments), but the hit to comments ratio is way out of whack, so I know there are a whole bunch of people who read the blog regularly, but who don’t ever comment.

It’s time to come out of the woodwork people!  Tell us who you are (even if it’s a made up name because you’re too scared/nervous to post your real name)!  Pretty please?  It can be my entertainment the next time I’m a slave to the almighty breast pump.

Kerry

65 Responses to “Just wondering”

  1. ischwab said

    google reader. it’s totally the reason for a slow down in responses.

  2. Sock said

    Well…I don’t always comment because I have 5 or 6 blogs I follow. Usually I’m checking them in the mornings while having my wake-up juice (coffee), which comes after the cats’ medications, and before getting ready for work. Sometimes I have time to post and sometimes not. Usually I’ll check the blogs again in the evening, and I post if I have something to say.

    There…I hope that got you through a minute or two with the breast pump. LOL!!

  3. MJ said

    Hey, I’m from the TTTC blog on the nest. I used to be MJoule but am now mbjmaybebaby. We’ve chatted a couple times and I’m here in Denver. I follow your blog and love seeing how you guys are doing.

    ~Meghan

  4. Porche said

    :::waves hello:::

    I get to check in every once in a while, but often don’t have much to say that is ‘new’ or ‘interesting.’ I love to see cute babies and it gives me a break from thinking about the bakery.

  5. Lanie & Shane said

    You know me, and I’m a PW when I’ve got time. : )

    I’m pumping as I type this.

  6. Lanie & Shane said

    And to follow up on your comment to me … there’s not enough lube in the world to make up for a sudden, um, dime-size tunnel.

  7. Cathy said

    Just a regular ole stalker here!

  8. lake721 said

    OK- you pulled me out! I have been lurking since right before you had the boys! I am new to blogging and just started a private blog for family and friends to follow our journey through infertility. I am getting ready to leave right now to go in for our 5th IUI! I just love the pics of your precious boys, your story is an inspiration and I am in total awe of your ability to keep the blog up with two newborns! Keep up the good work and good luck on your return to your career.

  9. Katie said

    Just me! (KSun)

  10. Tiffany said

    Hi, my name is Tiffany and I think we need a date for wings. What???

  11. Teresa said

    Hi Kerry,
    We “met” on the nest and on Sparkpeople. I rarely visit those sites anymore but still follow your blog. I’m so excited for you guys!

  12. Jillian H. said

    I am with Ivory—I think Google Reader makes it harder to comment for those of us who are in a time crunch or just too lazy and just like getting the updates and scrolling through the reader everyday. For those of you who are reading this and don’t have a Google Reader—I never followed blogs before I had this–this makes things so easy! Do whay Kerry says, get one.

    Kerry, your blog updates are the first ones I check everyday when I log into my reader 🙂

  13. Kirsten said

    Hi Kerry, I’m from The Nest/The Bump (local board and TTTC/SAIF respectively). I’ve followed your story from right before you did IVF and even though I don’t know you, I’ve had you and your family in my thoughts and prayers so I try to keep up with your blog and your posts on the chat boards to see how you guys are doing. I’m due in about 4 weeks and have been battling stupid colds and coughs for the last three months otherwise I would have joined the brigade to bring food to you and Jeff and might have had the pleasure of meeting you in real life. I live in the area but haven’t gone to any of the G2G’s, mostly because I have a 2 1/2 year old to take care of but also because I tend to be on the shy/introverted side when it comes to meeting people.

    Hope you don’t feel stalked, it’s just that your story is so inspirational that I’ve been rooting for you guys and have loved following the progress of you seeing this long sought after dream finally come true.

    Kirsten (kirs10nBryce)

  14. Karis said

    Hi! I found your blog on the Nest. I very rarely post, but I lurk on TTTC… You have the most beautiful family!

  15. sara said

    Hi~this is Sara(INgirlinDenver) from the Nest. I comment off and on depending on how crazy it is when I’m catching up on blogs

  16. Me said

    I’m a very private lurker. But I’ve enjoyed your family for many months. Thanks for sharing.

  17. Dawn said

    Hey – it’s Dawn M. Yup, I stalk 🙂 You’re boys are so cute! And very well dressed! Going back to work was tough at first, but it got easier. And maybe we can all do lunch in Boulder again once you’re settled! Happy pumping…I’m still tied to mine for about 1.5 hours a day. Yee-haw.

  18. I check in every couple of days, and I think I’ve commented only once before a while ago. I went to high school with Jeff and Jenn (Strine) Kearney introduced me to your blog. I love to see how big the boys are getting! Thanks for being so good at making sure your blog is updated. I have one child and can’t find the time to do much on mine!

  19. Andrea said

    I found your blog on another friends blog list and have been following your story for months. You really are an inspiration and have given me so much insight into how difficult infertility can be. My husband and I were lucky enough to get pregnant the first month we tried and now have a beautiful 4 month old baby girl. I love reading stories from other mommies and your blog is the first one I check every day.

  20. Anne said

    Another reader here! I actually found your page via Cyndi’s page but I can’t recall how I stumbled across hers, honestly. She posted when you went in to labor and I’ve been reading/following you ever since!

    I’m also a “bump” girl who is not yet trying for one of my own, but obsessively planning and looking forward to it. I do have two fabulous step-daughters, though, who keep life interesting.

    Anyway, you’re on my “Google Reader” and I read your updates daily!

  21. Carla said

    Hey- I’m also from the nest- I don’t even remember how I stumbled onto your blog…I’m dealing with unexplained IF and am about to start my 3rd IVF at 29. Sucks! I read blogs like yours to keep me focused and help me have faith! Congratulations to you on your beautiful arrival and thanks for the fab writing!

  22. Sarah said

    love reading your blog. your boys are so cute!

  23. Kendra said

    Hi, I’m Kendra from the CO nest (LillyLove08). I rarely post there, but I’ve been following your story for awhile. I feel bad stalking your blog since I don’t really know you, but I’m glad you don’t seem to mind. You’re boys (and Rex) are just the cutest!

  24. jill said

    hi jeff, kerry, max & wes!!! i’ve been reading since you were on bed rest (and then i went back and read from the beginning to get caught up!). i am so excited to see how well the boys are doing; and i’m so IMPRESSED with how well mom and dad are doing now that the guys are home! hope rex isn’t feeling too left out these days! lotsa love from texas!

  25. Sarah and Brooke said

    All the women on the helpdesk here at Jeff’s work, check in daily to see all the new pictures and updates. We are super excited for you guys and can’t wait to meet the little guys.

  26. lilcyndiluwho said

    So THAT’S why I suddenly got so much feed from your blog! LOL

    :::waves:::

  27. claire said

    I stumbled across your blog after looking on the TTTC board. We too, had some challenges in this dept-(now have a 14 month old son (: ) Love following your story.

  28. Sean said

    Hey guys! North Carolina just checkin in as I do every so often. I hope the boys get a chance to enjoy their Bobcats gear (though I figure they’re certainly not short in the clothing dept). I’ll be home for Luke’s wedding in August and can’t wait to meet the boys then. Maybe in May if the Nugs go deep in the playoffs and I’m inclined to fly home for a game. Anyway, All the best!

  29. Shelley said

    Hi, I’ve been reading your blog since the boys were born. They are SO CUTE! I am 13 weeks pregnant with twins from our 1st IVF. Your story is inspiring & I’m not as worried about having preemies now because your boys seem to be doing so well! I hope they are on room air soon!! And I love Rex 🙂 We have a great dane who is our “baby” & are worried how she’ll cope with not being the center of attention.

  30. Susan said

    To be honest, I am not sure how I came upon your blog. I have commented once before, but check almost daily. I am amazed at how many parallels our stories have. I have a blog as well, but didn’t start until well after my boys were home. (born in November, and started bloggin in February) I’m not sure I have one comment on my blog. ha ha.
    Thanks for sharing your story!

  31. Beth said

    Hi. I’m a lurker too. Usually read blogs as I’m pumping at work and it’s difficult to comment when both hands are in use 🙂 But I’ll try to be better and comment more.

  32. andrea said

    Hi Kerry, Jeff, Rex, Max & Wes!

    I am a future IVFer and have been reading your blog for a while now. You are a great inspiration to me and I enjoy reading about your family.

  33. April said

    I stalk you a couple times a week to make sure everything is going okay and I love seeing the boys grow :). Hope you’re doing well!

  34. Ann O. Nymous said

    I read your blog regularly, but I never comment b/c I just don’t comment on blogs in general. Anyway, I talk to you enough as it is… hehe.

  35. Mom said

    Your father and I probably check the blog every time we log on during the day so that probably accounts for 8 to 10 hits per day if we’re both home. Those last pictures of the boys are super cute. I feel just like I did when you and Kristy were little – oh, oh, they’ll probably never be this cute and cuddly again. And then I felt the same the next month and the next year and the next. OK, you grew out of cuddly but always stayed cute. 🙂 It’s a great way to keep up with you all without infringing on your limited time – or waking you up if you’re managing to get a little sleep!!

  36. DeAnna said

    1,000 hits a day? You should put some ads on this bad boy and start building up Max and Wes’ college funds.

    since you asked so nicely, I’ll leave you a comment…

    You rock.
    Don’t ever forget it.
    (:

  37. Cheryl said

    Hi it’s Cheryl from New Zealand – Previously I lived in Colorado for 2 years and started lurking (don’t you hate that word!) on The Knot when I was planning our wedding before heading over to The Nest and eventually discovering the land of the blogs! Currently trying to start our own family and hoping not to head down the path of fertility treatments.

  38. Erica said

    ::waves hello::

    🙂

  39. Shannon said

    Ditto the lurking from the Nest and Google Reader. I tend not comment on any blogs I read, which is a terrible habit I’m going to break right about…. now! I love your story and have been rooting for you for quite some time now. Congrats on your beautiful sons!

  40. Nicole said

    ok i’ll bite ! I’m NicB from the nest!!!

  41. Vanessa said

    I’ve been following since you got pregnant! I think i’ve only commented a few times. I follow way too many blogs too but I love it, definetly keeps me busy. Also Love google reader, couldnt keep up without it!

  42. Jenni said

    you caught me =)
    I have been following since before your boys were born.. too cute by the way.. :0)

  43. Steph said

    I try to stop in as often as I can to see you and your adorable boys. I am still so happy for you guys and am still someday going to hold true to my promise of bringing DQ to your doorstep!

  44. Brenda and John said

    I try to comment when I can, but I thought I’d comment here and say hi!

  45. Amanda said

    Hi! I can’t remember how I stumbled across your blog, but I started reading because woman in my family seem to have trouble with infertility. I am not married, so not trying to get pregnant, but still a little worried about this in the future. Oh, and I went to Eaglecrest with Jeff…although I don’t think we ever hung out or had any classes together.

  46. Catherine said

    Guilty… I’ll be better, I promise. Typing one-handed (holding a baby or two in the other) contributes greatly to my lack of commenting…

  47. Carrie Sharp said

    Dear Kerry, Jeff and boys, We are the backdoor neighbors to Art and Sue and have been following your wonderful journey on your blog.Kerry, you are one talented writer!!Our daughter Paige had IVF also and delivered our twins Savannah and Tanner on Feb.2 right before your precious boys made their appearance in the world. You have been thru so much and yet find happiness and humor thru it all!Your boys are adorable!!Now you have identified at least 1 new blogger enjoying your story.Hope to see you at Masteras sometime soon!Carrie Sharp

  48. militarywifealways said

    You know me, well at least over the net :0)

  49. Marcy said

    Kerry and Jeff………….you don’t know me……I am a friend of your Moms. In fact, we roomed together in high school with “Aunt Ruthie” We have gotten reunited in the last couple of years. Had lunch together once when she was visiting your Grandpa, exchanged e-mails and the rest is history. We e-mail, solve world problems and share our families………….She told me about your web site and I have been keeping very close tabs. I am so happy for all of you and so happy that you got your little miracles……….I check almost nightly,love the pictures and put your two little boys to bed each night with a special prayer……….God bless your family. PS. I am a very spoiled Grandma as my 5 grandkids all live within 30 miles. They range from “almost” 18 to 8 months……….So I have been a grandma for a long time and it just doesn’t get any better than this………..Marcy

  50. Noell said

    Hey there Kerry! I’ve been a bad reader/commenter lately…forgive me!

  51. Dayna Rae said

    I read your blog everyday. It is so nice to know how your family is doing. Thank you for the window!

  52. Stacy said

    Hey there Kerry – it’s me, Stacy. Even thought I go days (or weeks) being MIA I am always checking up on you, Jeff & the boys! You are a great blogger!

  53. Alissa said

    Hi there,
    I am a friend of Lanie’s sister Tessa. I started reading Lanie’s blog after Tessa came down for he egg transfer and followed the link to your page. Your boys are beautiful, thanks for sharing them with all of us, even those who don’t know you guys 🙂
    Alissa

  54. Sam & Val said

    Hi guys! I try to check in a few times a week, to see those adorable little faces (as well as the boys), :P, and to report back to Val. He likes hearing how things are going with you guys. 🙂 I think he’s a bit bummed that there won’t be any more trips for wings for a while. Give all of the little ones – Max, Wes and Rex – hugs from me and Val. 🙂

  55. Ondrea said

    me! me! me!

  56. Lori & James said

    Hey guys!
    I check your blog DAILY! I am so happy for you! I can’t wait to meet them!

  57. Keith and Jennifer Schultz said

    Hi Kerry!

    It is Keith and Jennifer from NE! We have been secretly stalking you as well. Having two kids of our own, we have been keeping you all in our thoughts and prayers. We are so happy to see that your dreams are now your reality. Being a mother and/or father is the most amazing thing we have ever experienced. Jennifer cries when she reads your blog, although, I am not sure she would admit it. She loves this stuff. We are both so very happy for you guys! Jennifer and Keith

  58. pyjammy said

    i read via google reader. 🙂

  59. krazykids said

    We don’t get many comments these days either. Pregnancy is boring compared to IVF

  60. Tarah said

    Hi! It’s just me. I read pretty much every day, but sometimes I just don’t know what to say.

    Love looking at the pictures and keeping tabs on ya. I got your thank you card and can’t wait for you to come visit. Hopefully we’ll be planning a play date soon. 🙂

  61. Jessica said

    Hi! I’m friends with Deb Clawson, and she knows one of you … somehow. I forget. But I got hooked reading your blog because your kids are so freaking cute, and well, I’m totally otherwise hidden in the woodworks. Also, though, I love all the names, and I think you need a goldfish named Dex. 🙂

  62. Lauren said

    Hey there, it’s littlemissgreeneyes from the nest. You are so inspirational and the boys are freaking adorable! You’re on my google reader and your journey has been such an emotional ride to follow.

  63. Tara said

    Look how loved you are! 🙂

  64. Amy said

    I’m ColoRxGirl and a CO nestie who follows your blog. I’ve been watching your progress for over a year now (I also was a patient at Conceptions) and it is so neat to see your boys doing so great!

    I actually work at the hopital where your boys were – but, obviously, because of privacy regulations I couldn’t approach you. But I always wanted to tell you guys how much I was thinking of you!

  65. Jess said

    Hi Kerry,
    I’m one of your cyber stalkers.

    I went to highschool with Jeff and I read your blog on occasion. My husband and I are going through the painful process of fertility treatments and I like seeing others (i.e. your) success. Makes me really happy to see the boys getting bigger and stronger! Thanks for blogging and posting the pics!

Leave a Reply

