The first night (a mommy’s perspective)

April 9, 2009

I’m a mommy.  I love saying that.  I love feeling that even more.  =)

I really didn’t think the first night was that bad at all.  I didn’t really expect to get any sleep, and I would say I got at least 3-4 hours of good sleep, which is more than I got most nights of my pregnancy (especially after I went on bed rest), so not too shabby!  If I’m being honest, I could have spent all night just staring at our beautiful boys, or my super cute husband (I just love seeing him with our boys, it brings me so much happiness).  I’m just in awe that I can love two little guys as much as I love these guys, and I’m so damn happy that they are finally both home with Jeff and I.

I’m also thankful that Jeff is 100% my equal in this whole parenthood thing, because I know that isn’t often the case with daddies.  He and I share the responsibilities of caring for the boys (and other stuff around the house) 50/50.  We take turns with diaper changes, feedings, making bottles, doing dishes, folding laundry, etc – it’s so great to feel like we’re really in this together.  I never really thought I could love Jeff more than I did, but it’s possible, because I do.  And seeing him interacting with Max and Wes is seriously just about the coolest thing I’ve ever laid my eyes on – it makes all of those months and years of infertility and treatments and pain and tears and shots and more tears and making the HUGE decision to do IVF (which as you might remember, I was apprehensive about, I was leaning more towards adoption) totally worth it.  Totally worth it.  It feels great knowing that I made his biggest dream come true.

With that, I’m off to pour myself a Bailey’s on the rocks…

Kerry

8 Responses to “The first night (a mommy’s perspective)”

  1. Steph said

    I’m so glad your first night went well and I am so glad you get to experience parenthood with the only other person who you love as much as those boys. It makes the journey even sweeter. Congrats again to you both!

  2. Melissa said

    Yay for a good first night for you!! Your post here has once again brought tears to my eyes-congrats again Kerry!! Hope you, Jeff & the boys have a great first Easter together…HOME and together as a family!!

  3. Katey said

    That has to be one of the sweetest things I have read in a long time. Glad the first night went well….so excited that you are all home!

  4. twodaisies said

    Yay! So glad to hear things are going well!

  5. Noell said

    I’m so happy that you have both of the boys home and equally happy that Jeff is one of those dads (like my DH) that puts in 150%!! So much less stressful when you have someone there that does everything he can to help out! Congrats guys on having your little family home healthy & safe!

  6. liz said

    awww. you’re a big ol’ softie, kerry.

  7. erica said

    How wonderful! You deserve it!

  8. Eric said

    Wow Kerry. Your words move me almost to tears. I like hearing about my cousin through your words. I always new he was a good guy. He take after his dad and me, but to hear you say it was a nice perspective. Nothing comes between the love a father feels for his son(s).

Leave a Reply

