So Very Tired

April 9, 2009

Not that I thought this would be easy, trust me I didn’t, I just didn’t realize how tired I could be only after 1 day of having both Max and Wes home.  Overall it wasn’t a bad night.  They both took their feedings really well and for the most part slept through their 4 hour blocks.  I probably should have tried to get some sleep between the 10pm and 2am feeds but for whatever reason I didn’t feel tired. 

I know it is still early and that things will not always be this easy but so far I think we have a good handle on things.  It doesn’t hurt that Max is so mild mannered and that all it takes to keep Wes happy is a bottle and a binky.  Now, I am still not sure how the hell I am going to do this on my own for 3 months while Kerry is at work – trying to do anything, even scratching an itch on your nose, is a small feat while trying to feed these guys, and they can’t even crawl yet!!  I am sure I\we will figure it out once we get into a routine.

The hardest part so far has been working through Wes’s acid reflux while he takes his bottle.  I have had AR in the past, but not to the extent that Wes seems to have.  You can tell when it is starting because he starts to cough a little and then he squirms around with a lot of force for as small as he is.  It is pretty heartbreaking watching him suffer like that, but he is resilient and still takes his full bottle every time. 

I may change my tune tomorrow, but as far as the last 30 hours (give or take) have gone, I would say it was pretty easy to manage and not as hard as I expected.

 

The boys and I catching some zzzzz's

The boys and I catching some zzzzz's

The only way to make Max look bigger - put him in the forefront

The only way to make Max look bigger - put him in the forefront

Sacked out in their Pack n Play

Sacked out in their Pack n Play

Jeff

8 Responses to “So Very Tired”

  1. ischwab said

    Jeff, it looks like you are doing a great job! And you certainly look as cute as hell with both your boys!

  2. angelika05 said

    So freaking cute – I was just want to pinch the cheeks of all THREE of them. 🙂

  3. Melissa said

    Ok…the photo of both boys napping with their Daddy totally brought tears to my eyes!! I’ll say it again, just so incredibly happy for you guys!

  4. lilcyndiluwho said

    That first picture is one of the most beautiful I’ve ever seen. I can’t imagine taking care of two at once! But you’ll both get into a routine and rock it, just like you’ve done every step through this. I just can’t belive how wonderful it is to see pictures of both of them home!

  5. militarywifealways said

    Looks like you are doing an awesome job Jeff, you and Kerry

  6. liz said

    i love that picture of daddy & the boys. lovely!

  7. Auntie Barb said

    Jeff,

    I am so very proud of you! Like everyone else,I love the napping picture of you and the boys. I have no doubt that you will do fine when Kerry is at work.

  8. erica said

    They are so cute! I love the picture of them napping with Daddy! You both are doing a fabulous job!

Leave a Reply

