Easy peasy

April 5, 2009

I know I’ve totally got to be jinxing Jeff and I when I say this, but having Max at home is a hell of a lot easier than I thought it would be!  In fact, other than alternating the “overnight shift” so that we can both get some sleep, our lives haven’t changed all that much.  I have to admit we’re both a little worried about what it’s going to be like with Wes home, too, as we’re now almost a week into having only one of our boys here and so far it’s been a breeze.  We may be a little bit spoiled in that Maxwell is a super chill baby, and doesn’t require all that much attention – a little food, clean diapers, a daily wardrobe change, and a lot of love and snuggles from mommy and daddy and he’s good to go.  It may have been more of a struggle if Weston came home first, since he’s proven time and time again to be the more “difficult” one, but we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it, right? 

We have a busy day today – I want to get a little bit of cleaning done this morning before we venture out into the world.  We are going to our favorite cupcake bakery to pick up some treats for the boys’ NICU nurses, and then we’re going to the hospital to spend the afternoon with Wes.  Grandma and Grandpa M are coming to hang out with the boys and us for a little bit today – I know Max and Wes are looking forward to some time with them.  Then tonight, I have GOT to bake some doggy treats for Rex – I’ve been putting this off for weeks, and he’s been out of his favorite biscuits for a while now.  I think he deserves for me to bake them for him since he’s been such a good boy and such a good older “brother” to Max this week.  Plus, I need to butter him up for when his life is about to change AGAIN when Wes comes home, LOL!    

I’ll get some pictures of the boys up later tonight…

Kerry

6 Responses to “Easy peasy”

  1. Steph said

    I’m so glad the first few days have been great with Max. They will be equally as wonderful when you have little Wes home!

  2. lilcyndiluwho said

    Glad to hear it’s going so well. I agree. Aside from the not sleeping thing, newborns aren’t that difficult unless you have to deal with colic or difficulties eating. I don’t know how those moms do it.

    Hope things continue to be smooth and easy, even after Wes is with you.

  3. militarywifealways said

    See there I was trying to avoid the cupcakes on my trip up there today :0)

    Glad to hear everything is going great with Max, I am sure Wes will find his spot and settle in with his brother(s).

  4. Brenda and John said

    I’m so glad things are going smoothly. I’m sure it will be an adjustment when Wes comes home, but I bet the boys will love being together again!

  5. Cathy said

    I can’t believe you have newborn twins and are making your dog homemade biscuits. You’re like a super woman.

    Of course you’ve just jinxed yourself to hell with this post 😉

  6. Susan said

    Hi,
    I just recently found your blog and this post made me chuckle because just a few months ago we were thinking the same thing! We brought our son Braden home 1 week before his twin brother Jack after 5 weeks in the NICU. He actually came home to the same polka dotted bouncy seat you have!
    At the same time we found it challenging to balance spending time at home with Braden and getting in to see Jack. We were very lucky it was only a week. I hope Wes’ stay is not much longer!
    Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

