Welcome home, Max!!!

April 3, 2009

This entry was written on Tuesday, April 1st – we just were keeping it a “secret” because we wanted some privacy (in this oh-so-pubic life we have now), I hope you all understand.  =)  We wanted to “come clean” because it looks like Wes will be in the NICU for a little bit longer than we had originally expected, and frankly, we need the support.  I’ve been getting increasingly more worried about my mild PPD getting worse if both boys aren’t home with us soon, and thought that sharing this great news with the world would make me feel a little bit better. 

Max was given his walking papers on Tuesday, March 31, 2009, after spending 43 days in the Swedish NICU.  It was a bittersweet day – on one hand, we were really happy to have at least one of our babies home, and on the other hand, it was heartbreaking to leave our little Wes at the hospital.  We documented the day in photos, so enjoy!

All strapped in

All strapped in

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

Safe and sound at home

Safe and sound at home

Rex meeting his brother for the first time

Rex meeting his brother for the first time

So sweet

So sweet

Rex kisses

Rex kisses

Max's first diaper change at home

Max's first diaper change at home

Max's first bottle at home and kisses from Rex

Max's first bottle at home and kisses from Rex

Resting peacefully on Daddy's chest

Resting peacefully on Daddy's chest

Max’s first night went relatively well, other than the fact that Rex is already very protective over his little brother – he didn’t sleep at all, which meant I didn’t sleep at all.  Every single little noise that Max made, Rex would completely freak out.  He must have jumped on and off the bed 200 times last night, all the while our son was soundly sleeping in the pack and play next to our bed.  The little noises he was making throughout the night made me smile over and over again – I just cannot believe that one of our boys is finally home!!!!  Now if we could just get his brother home…

Kerry

24 Responses to “Welcome home, Max!!!”

  1. Heather said

    Hooray, Kerry!!! Welcome home, little Max!

  2. Lanie & Shane said

    OMG! I’m so happy for you guys. I’m sure its going to be so hard to have the boys separated, but I really hope it helps you feel better Kerry. Enjoy every moment!

  3. sara said

    I am so happy for all of you that Max is home!!! Hopefully Wes will be home very soon!

  4. HuskerLissa said

    Congrats! He is so darn cute with his hands ‘protecting’ his paci! 🙂

  5. Robin said

    Congrats Kerry and Jeff. I am so excited for you!!!

  6. erica said

    Welcome home, Max!!! Your Mommy and Daddy have waited quite a while for this!

    I’m praying that Wes will join him soon!

  7. lilcyndiluwho said

    WELCOME HOME MAX!!! I’m so happy at least one of them is home with you. Now come on Wes. Let’s get you there too. Congrats you guys.

  8. krazykids said

    Great news!!!!!

  9. Angie said

    Welcome Home!!! I am so happy for you guys that you have little Max home with you.

  10. Shay(militarywife) said

    Welcome home Max!!!
    Amazing news Kerry :o) I will be praying Wes is not far behind. Hugs, I can only imagine how you feel,let me know if there is anything you or Jeff need.

  11. pixy0stix said

    YAY! and awww, Rex!

  12. Brenda and John said

    Yay! I am so happy to hear that Max is home. It looks like he’s settling in great!

  13. Beth M said

    Oh yay!!!! I’m so glad to hear that Max is home and that Rex seems to love his new brother! I’m praying and praying that Wes will join you REALLY soon.
    I love you guys!

  14. What a great surprise to see this post! We love that you’ve captured his first moments at home. We are thinking so much about your boys and can’t wait for them to be home together.

  15. Kiane said

    Welcome home Max!!! I’m so excited for you guys! I am praying that Wes will be home with all of you very, very soon.

  16. Katey said

    I am so excited to hear that Max is at home!! That is such wonderful news and I’m sure his brother will be joining him very very soon.

  17. mrshadley said

    Congrats on having one of your boys home! I’ve enjoyed your blog for a while now and finally have something to share. I brought my youngest home on oxygen, and a nurse finally (after like 4 weeks) told me to cut the grips in half. They still work like a charm and don’t take up their entire face. Plus less sticky to clean off! Again congrats and I’ll pray that Wes will be home soon!

  18. Molly said

    welcome home maxarooni!

  19. Noell said

    Congrats on having little Max home! I hope Wes can get home soon!

  20. Steph said

    Awww little monkey – I was just thinking the other day about how I wanted to come see you guys. Now I think I’ll wait until Wes gets home too and bring you all presents!! And Rex is such a good big brother!!

  21. Katie said

    Welcome home Max!!!

  22. Chrissy said

    Yay! Welcome home, Max! I am so happy for you and Jeff. I hope Wes is able to join you all at home really soon.

  23. Auntie Barb said

    I kinda thought that Max got to come home when I saw Wes was the only picture on the scale. I’m very happy for you guys. Loved the pics of Rex giving kisses to Max. Continued prayers for Wes to join his brother(s) soon.

  24. STEVE said

    congratulations!!!!!!! He is so CUTE and has your NOSE! Have fun with the little guy and I hope his Bro can come home very soon. I am very HAPPY for the two of you and looks like you are having a lot of fun. TAKE CARE

Leave a Reply

