Happy 40th Anniversary, Mom and Dad!!!!!

March 22, 2009

WOW.

Forty years ago today, March 22, 1969, my Mom and Dad were married in a nice ceremony in Valentine, Nebraska.  My Mom had the shoulder length bob that was so in style in the 60’s, and wore a beautiful gown with a fancy hat and veil.  My Dad had a cleanly shaven face (not the norm for him), horn-rimmed glasses, and looked very dapper in his tuxedo.  I have a picture of them on that day, cutting their four-tiered (!!!) wedding cake, right next to the picture of Jeff and I cutting into our wedding cake 5 1/2 years ago.  I guess I like those pictures next to each other because I look at my parents’ marriage as the one I want to have 20, 30, 40+ years from now.  I know that no one has a “perfect” marriage, but I know my parents’ journey has been damn close to being perfect, and I can only aspire to be as happy with Jeff when we celebrate 40 years together as my Mom and Dad are today.

I remember on our wedding day, just as my Daddy was getting ready to walk me down the aisle, he gave me some of the best advice I’ve probably ever gotten from anyone in my entire life.  He said –

Today (meaning the day we got married) isn’t the day that you will look back on to define your life together.  Your wedding day won’t even matter in the grand scheme of things.  It will be the day after your wedding day, the week after that, a month later, a year later…then ten, twenty, thirty years later that will be the ‘most important days of your life’.”

I mean, how true is that?

I was one of those weirdos who didn’t really care how or where I got married.  I could have married Jeff in McDonald’s, just after ordering a #2 with no pickles and a Coke, and I know we would be just as happy today as we are.  My Dad was so right.  As much as I did enjoy being around friends and family on our wedding day (and as much as I loved giving Jeff the wedding he wanted), that day doesn’t really hold much significance to me just a few short years later.  The days that really stick out in my mind now?  The day we closed on our first home, the day we found out I was pregnant, the day that our beautiful boys were born.  Those are the days that “matter” to me now.

My Mom and Dad are still so ridiculously in love today that it gives me so much hope for Jeff and I’s future.  I think one of the keys to my parents’ marriage, and why they are still so much in love, is that they really like each other.  They call each other the most adorable “pet names” (don’t worry, Mom and Dad, your secret is safe with me), and every once and a while I’ll catch my Dad playfully smacking my Mom on the butt.  While I don’t like to let my mind wander too far (ewww), I can’t help but smile when I see stuff like that.  So many couples who have been married for a long time don’t have that fun, playful aspect of their marriage anymore, and that just makes me so sad.  Call me a hopeless romantic, but I hope that when Jeff and I celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary we are still calling each other “punkin” and “sweetie weetie”, and I’m still getting an occasional butt smack.

So thank you, Mom and Dad, for setting the (marriage) bar so high for me that I never just settled for any of the completely-wrong-for-me guys I dated in high school, college, and after.  I think I can thank you on behalf of Kristy too, since she also dated some doozies.  =)  Thanks for being such good marriage mentors to both of us, and for loving us so much, and for raising us to be the women we are today.  And thank you for being such amazing parents – the kind of parents that I can only hope that Jeff and I will be to Max and Wes. 

I love you!!!!!!!!!!!!

Kerry

9 Responses to “Happy 40th Anniversary, Mom and Dad!!!!!”

  1. Ondrea said

    wow! 40 years is awesome!! Congratulations!!
    and random trivia – Mike was born in Valentine (but 39 yrs ago)

  2. Kiane said

    Congratulations to your parents on 40 years!! That’s awesome!

  3. Angelika said

    Happy Anniversary to them!!!!!!!

  4. courtney said

    Congrats to Peggy and Bob!!! I must say, if they survived the teenage years of you and Kristy (and crazy times with my sister and me) they are pretty solid. Keep that in mind 15 years from now 😉

  5. Kristy said

    Amen! Could never had put it as well as that! Love you all!

  6. Dad said

    “I must say, if they survived the teenage years of you and Kristy (and crazy times with my sister and me) they are pretty solid.”

    Ain’t that the truth! I’d almost forgotten about “the younger years” until you brought it up!

    We’re pretty danged proud of the way our two girls grew up, that’s for sure. And we both sure enjoyed Kerry’s tribute for our anniversary. Thanks so much.

    Love, Dad

  7. Brenda and John said

    Happy anniversary to your parents! 40 years is quite an accomplishment. And I love what your dad said to you. How true!

  8. Auntie Barb said

    I also want to add my congrats to Bob and Peggy. Since I was at your beautiful wedding 5 1/2 years ago, I hope that I’ll be with you to celebrate your 40th. Now don’t laugh, I won’t have celebrated my 100th yet~

  9. Noell said

    Happy Anniversary to your parents! I love hearing of “success” stories such as your parents…seems rare nowadays!

Leave a Reply

