Special visitors

March 8, 2009

First of all – our long list of “thank yous” –

Thanks SO MUCH to my friend, Laura, for coming to meet the boys, and for bringing me the adorable “Superman” onesies for Max and Wes (they are onesies with a “M” and a “W” in a Superman-style logo on the front – soooo freakin’ cute), along with a couple of other preemie outfits and a whole bag of hand-me-downs for the boys.  Thank you to my friend, Ivory, who met me at the hospital on Friday morning and brought me “lactation cookies” (YUM), and then went to Starbucks to go meet Molly and Ivy with me.  Thanks to Molly for the adorable preemie outfits – Jeff and I actually just washed all of our preemie clothes to take to the hospital, so stay tuned for pics.  And Mol, that black bean soup was the bomb (it was our lunch today), thank you so much!!!  =)  Thank you to our friend, Tiffany, for bringing us dinner to the hospital on Friday night – she brought us steaks from Outback Steakhouse!!!  They were sooo good, and totally hit the spot after a long day.  Thanks to my sister-in-law, Kim, and her family, for sending us the handmade burp cloths – they are too cute.  =)  Whew!  If I left off anyone from my “thank you” list, I am so sorry – I really try to remember everyone, so please don’t take it personally.  I so appreciate all of our friends and family members who have been so supportive!

Jeff and I got soooo much done around the house this weekend – I am so proud of us!  With being on bed rest for as long as I was, I had a long list of things I wanted/needed to get done before the boys were born, and now that they are here (and I have my freedom back), we are in a much bigger hurry to get our “to do” list done.  On Saturday, I cleaned house for the first time in over two months, and it felt spectacular (if you all know me, you know I’m being dead serious here)!  Jeff was a huge help with getting that done – he scrubbed the bathtub, dusted our bedroom, and vacuumed the entire upstairs – thanks babe!  I am also proud to say that we are completely done with the nursery now (other than the piles and piles of clothes that still need to be washed).  I’ll try to get pictures up sometime this week…

Now for the big news of the day – Grandma and Grandpa Mastera came to the hospital today to hold the boys for the first time!!!  Art got little Max, and Sue held our little chubster, Wes.  Here are some pictures for your viewing pleasure…

Max wide awake for Grandpa Mastera

Max wide awake for Grandpa Mastera

Wes in his Grandma Mastera's arms

Wes in his Grandma Mastera's arms

Tomorrow morning we will go give the boys baths again, and tomorrow is also a big day for Max – he starts back up on my breast milk (very, very gradually, along with the pre-digested formula he’s been on for the last few days).  Please keep your fingers crossed that he’s able to tolerate it so that we don’t have to fork out massive amounts of money on the pre-digested formula (I think they said it was around $47 a can).  Both boys are also getting blood drawn tomorrow to check their iron levels, and Max’s bili level will also be checked again to make sure it’s normal.

I should be 33 weeks pregnant today, and instead we have two adorable little boys who will be 3 weeks old tomorrow.  It’s a little bittersweet to receive the pregnancy updates from Babycenter.com every week, but for some reason, I can’t get them to stop updating me.  Grrrr.  There are sooo many reasons why I wish I was still pregnant with these little guys, but there are also a lot of reasons to be thankful that they are here with us now (as opposed to coming 6 weeks earlier).  So sleep tight little ones, mommy and daddy can’t wait to see you tomorrow morning!

Kerry

4 Responses to “Special visitors”

  1. Tarah said

    Awe, so sweet. I am so glad that Grandma and Grandpa got to come check out their new grandsons! 🙂

    What a precious moment.

  2. lauraandlee said

    Those are some super sweet pictures with Grandma and Grandpa getting to cuddle their new grandsons. I am so in love with those little boys, I want to come stare at them all day every day! 😀

  3. Molly said

    Congrats Art and Sue! I can’t believe Wes is already 4lbs! That is how much Regan weighed less than four months ago and she’s Miss Chubbers now!

  4. militarywifealways said

    Praying everything checked out with the boys today. They look so happy to be with their grandma and grandpa. Max looks like he is saying are you the person who is suppose to spoil me rotten :0)

Leave a Reply

