Awwwww!!!

March 5, 2009

dsc01496

You’ll have to excuse the massive bags under my eyes (like you’re looking at me anyway), but look what I got to do today!!!  I got to hold BOTH of my boys at the same time for the first time since I was holding them in my belly.  That’s Wes on the left (my right), and Max on the right (my left).  It was amazing – today was really the first day where I really felt like a mommy, and I think it’s because I got to hold them and just stare at both of them at the same time.  I was comparing and contrasting their characteristics, and the more I looked back and forth, the more I realized just how different they really are.  My friend, Cathy, was with me when I was holding them, and she snapped a TON of great pictures of us, but this is my favorite.  I only wish you could see their little faces a little bit better…

I also made a decision yesterday during my time away that I wasn’t going to worry about showing you all every single little thing I get from my friends and loved ones.  I’m also not posting pictures of the meals that people bring over, and the main reason is just that I simply don’t have the time to do that kind of thing right now.  And I certainly won’t have time for that kind of thing when Max and Wes get to come home.  Not to mention that I would be willing to bet that every single person who reads this blog doesn’t give a crap about pictures of onesies, cards, and food – but they do want to see cute baby pictures!  So really quick let me thank some people for bringing me stuff. 

Thanks to Mary for the delicious turkey and wild rice chili (and for making enough that we could seriously eat it every day for a month!) and loaf of homemade bread (YUM), thanks to Janice for the ADORABLE onesies (that I will photograph the boys wearing very, very soon) and the short ribs and mashed potatoes, and thanks to Miriam for the polenta pie (that we will eat tomorrow since we came home too late to eat it tonight).  Thanks to Jeff’s cousin, Eric, and his wife, Kira, for the cute onesies, bibs, and receiving blankets, thanks to Heather for the extra pump supplies and the Lovely Confections cupcakes, thanks to Melissa for the thoughtful gift of thank you cards and stamps (that I have already used half of!), thanks to Cathy for the children’s books and lotion, and thanks to Jaime for the amazing hand creme and book! 

Whew!  I seriously feel like I won the friends lottery – we really do have so many people who care about us, and I could never begin to explain how much that has meant to Jeff and I throughout everything we’ve been through these last three years.  So thank you to everyone!  A big thanks especially to all of my friends online who have been the BEST support system a girl could ask for. 

And just because several people have expressed concern, I am going to talk to both my OB and the NICU social worker about post-partum depression (and/or possibly post tramatic stress disorder).  It is very common for moms of preemies to struggle with either of these, and even more common when there is extended periods of bed rest before the premature delivery.  I’m fairly certain that I have PPD, and have absolutely no problem admitting that.  Given everything I’ve (we’ve) been through, it would be weird if I wasn’t feeling some sort of sadness or depression about how things were “supposed to be”.  Anyway, I’ll keep you all updated.

I wanted to make this quick (oops) because once again, I’m absolutely wiped out from the day (and have a big, long day tomorrow), so I’ll leave you all with some pictures we took last night of the boys in some clothes again.  And guess what?  Our little fatty, Wes, is a little less than two ounces away from weighing 4 pounds!!!  I can’t believe it – almost an entire pound from his birth weight – which if you think about it, is pretty amazing (that’s a third of his birth weight)!  Max is slowly catching up – they just started him back on a hypo-allergenic milk/formula blend yesterday, and he seems to be tolerating it really well so far.  He started with 6 ml feeds, and will be gradually increasing (2 ml every other feed, eventually adding in breast milk as he can tolerate it) until he catches up to Wes.  I’m just so happy that things are finally starting to look up.

Have a good night, everyone.

Kerry

Max - 16 days old

Max - 16 days old

Wes - 16 days old

Wes - 16 days old

20 Responses to “Awwwww!!!”

  1. Angelika said

    Ahhh Kerry – you look beautiful. Glowing actually. And that picture of Wes sound asleep made me swoon…so, so cute.

    I am so glad that you are feeling more upbeat.

  2. ivory said

    omg!!! I’ve been waiting for this day and that picture!! Congratulations you are the mommy of twins!!

  3. Dayna Rae said

    You look beautiful Kerry! Kiss the boys for me and I’ll see you all soon.

  4. Peggy said

    Awwwww!! is right. I love the picture of you with both! Where is that person with the tissues when I need them?!
    I’m glad you are taking all the help and support you can get – but I also think you and Jeff have been absolutely amazing through all this.
    Much love, Mom

  5. militarywifealways said

    I don’t see any bags just a beautiful mom and the boys look awesome!!!

  6. Katey said

    You look great and the boys look adorable as always. I’m so excited you got to hold both at the same time today!!!

  7. Lanie & Shane said

    OMG! That picture of you with the boys is the BEST picture ever!!! Love it!

    And you sound great. That makes me so happy.

  8. Noell said

    Awwww, that’s awesome that you got to hold both of the boys! You’re going to be one buff mama by the time they’re a year old! 😉 And they look adorable as usual…still amazed at how relaxed Wes looks…making me tired!
    So glad that you’re going to talk to your OB & NICU social worker too…gotta take care of one of the most important people in the boys’ lives!

  9. lauraandlee said

    What an awesomely beautiful picture of the three of you. You really are glowing! 🙂

  10. Heather said

    Now THAT’s a happy momma! :). You look so darn happy in that picture. I love how Wes sprawls out when he sleeps.

  11. Cathy said

    Still like the cutest thing ever! 🙂 I’m so happy I got to meet your boys. They’re just adorable!

  12. Molly said

    look at you with both your boys!!! and i’m with angelika on that pic of wes. oh man. look at his little lips! what a sweetheart.

  13. Tarah said

    What a beautiful picture!!

    I love the picture of Wes sleeping. He just looks so content, like there isn’t a care in the world.

    Thank you for sharing everything that you do share. I know that I enjoy it.

    And woot!! for the weight gain. 🙂

  14. Tiffany said

    That is a beautiful picture Ker, you are going to be a great Mom!

  15. Ondrea said

    AW!! That is so awesome you got to hold them both!!! and that picture of Wes sleeping is so adorable – you’ll be amazed in 3 years to look back and find that he will still sleep the exact same way.

  16. Dad said

    Well, I agree with everyone who said mommy and the kids look great! I appears Wes has discovered the same thing that grandpa has—- taking naps is goood!

    Dad

  17. Stacy said

    Wow Kerry – Great, Great Geat photos…especially the one of you with both boys. Keep us up to date with the PPD. That is something I worry about – not sure why, just do. Oh and by the way – after reading this post I am SO hungary.

  18. Larissa said

    What a great pic. Big hugs to you!

  19. Kristin said

    They are perfect little miracles. And you look great with them in your arms.

  20. MoDLin said

    What bags under your eyes? You look wonderful – like you’re floating on Cloud 9. What a great day for your family. I’m sooooo happy for you!

Leave a Reply

