Answers

March 3, 2009

I’ve had a really rough day today, so I thought I would just answer a few questions that y’all have asked me in the last few days.  I should have more pictures up soon since I’m taking the day off going to the NICU tomorrow (I’m still going at night with Jeff, but not going during the day).  I have to take a day to myself to get things done, and I have to allow myself to not feel guilty because I need a day away. 

Anyway…

Q:  How are you and Jeff holding up?

A:  I just asked Jeff, and his answer was, “as well as can be expected”.  Typical male response.  =)  My response is a little more drawn out, as I usually tend to be.  I’m exhausted.  Beyond exhausted.  Emotionally and physically worn out, more than I’ve ever been before in my entire life.  I feel like I’m on the verge of tears every single minute of every single day, and when people ask me how I’m doing, I start crying.  Every time.  I know it could be worse, and for that I’m sooo thankful, but man – this is really hard.  I could go on and on, but I’m not looking for pity, so I’ll stop.  =)

Q:  How much do the boys weigh now?

A:  I can’t believe I haven’t been posting their updates on weight – how rude!  I didn’t get their weights tonight, but last night Max weighed 3 lbs, 3.4 oz, and Wes weighed 3 lbs, 3.9 oz.  Grow boys, grow!!!

Q:  How much longer do you think they will have to be in the NICU?

A:  Dr. Q told us that she expects they will be in the NICU for at least 5-6 more weeks.  We just want them to get big and strong so they can come home!

Q:  Can you tell them apart?

A:  YES!  I think they look completely different, and I always have.  Jeff used to have a hard time telling them apart, but now I think he’s a pro.

Q:  Are you going back to work?

A:  Unfortunately, yes.  I actually really miss working (I know, weird), and I really miss my friends at work, but it is going to be very, very hard to leave my little boys mere weeks after they come home.  I’m pretty fortunate that I have 8 weeks of paid maternity leave, but the boys will likely be coming home at the tail end of that time off.  My plan is to take all of my PTO (and maybe some unpaid time as well) when the boys come home.  Jeff also has 4 weeks of vacation that he will alternate using so that he can spend time with the boys after they get home.  Does that make sense?

Okay, I think that’s all for now.  Stay tuned for pictures tomorrow… 

Kerry

12 Responses to “Answers”

  1. Katey said

    Hugs, hugs, and more hugs.

  2. Angie said

    I’m so sorry everything has been so tough. You guys are in my prayers.

  3. Noell said

    So many hugs & prayers coming your way! Next year at this time you’ll have 2 little one-year olds to marvel over (and pull your hair out over)! Keep your eye on the horizon…easier said than done I’m sure!
    That’s great that they’re gaining nicely!

  4. Alexis said

    It’s important to take time for yourself too! The pics are adorable..they are so sweet. Weights lookin good!

  5. Tiffany said

    One day at a time. You two just keep staying as strong as you have been and know you have LOTS of people that love you and are here for support.

  6. Stacy said

    I’m glad you are taking a day “off” to get done what you need done – don’t feel guilty. You need to take care of yourself in order to take care of those beautiful boys. Maybe you can even squeeze something that is REALLY for you in there (massgae, pedi, etc.). It sounds silly but sometimes something like that can help.

  7. Brenda and John said

    Oh Kerry, you have every right to cry. I can’t imagine all that you have been through. Just remember that there are lots of people out there sending lots of juju and prayers to you and your little ones.

  8. erica said

    We are all rooting for you, Jeff, Max ans Wes. Hang in there!

  9. Tarah said

    I’m not sure why, but this post made me bawl. Freaking hormones!!

    I’m so sorry that you guys are so exhausted and that your little ones have to be in the NICU. I think about all of you daily and will continue to do so.

    They are going to be chunky little monkey’s before you know it!!

    ((HUGS))

  10. MoDLin said

    I’m glad to hear the boys are back together. Thanks for sharing their pictures – they are SO beautiful. Please know we’re all thinking of you and wishing you a really good night’s sleep.

  11. Kristy said

    Love you sis and am SO proud of you and Jeff. You two have overcome some pretty incredible obsticles already, and it’s not fair that you have to deal with this too. But you will get through it and will have two sweet, chubby, healthy little guys at home soon and all of the fun new experiences that come with them! Glad you took a day for yourself! Hope you got to do something more exciting than just the DMV 🙂

Leave a Reply

