Super quick post (Max update)

March 2, 2009

I just got a call from Dr. Q (the boys’ primary NICU doctor), and she is 99% sure that little Max has an allergy to something in breast milk, most likely cow proteins in the dairy that I eat/drink. Thank GOD. She seemed a little shocked that I was relieved to hear this news, but after thinking the absolute worst for my little guy (him needing surgery on part of his intestines or bowels), a simple little allergy isn’t much to worry about, IMO.

As of 3 o’clock this afternoon, I’m completely off dairy that contains cow proteins (I can eat soy proteins…for now) until further notice, which will be hard – but really, what about this whole ordeal hasn’t been hard?!?  I think I can handle it.  =)  I would do ANYTHING to keep our boys healthy, and not eating dairy really isn’t that big of a deal.  I am a little sad that the Ben & Jerry’s Cake Batter ice cream I just bought yesterday is going to go to waste, but I probably didn’t need it anyway…

Okay, back to the hospital – stay tuned for the boys’ 2 week pictures (with their stuffed animals).  I’ll try to get them posted tonight when we get home.

Kerry

6 Responses to “Super quick post (Max update)”

  1. Kristy said

    Good news! Like you said, all things considered could have been much worse. Sorry you won’t be able to eat your favorite ice cream, but I’m sure little Max will thank you for this (and so much more!) one day 🙂

    Love you and miss you all! sis

  2. Molly S. said

    I am so glad that it is something as simple as an allergy. When is this process finally going to get simple for you two??? We think about you guys all the time and can’t wait to see more pictures.

  3. Shay said

    Glad to hear it was just a simple allergy, soy is not that bad especially the ice cream my sister in law could only tolerate soy when she was pregnant, so I occasionally joined her

  4. Katey said

    I’m so glad that it was just an allergy and not something more serious. Sorry about the ice cream 😦

    {{HUGS}}

  5. Steph said

    I am so glad to hear it’s something simple!! Hooray!! I know the ice cream part is sad but I can help you with that if need be…what are friends for? 😉

  6. Stacy said

    Good News Kerry! Good luck with changing your diet to eliminte dairy. My cousin had to do that – I will see if she has any tips.

Leave a Reply

