Poor little Max

March 1, 2009

The doctor just called us to tell us that Max had blood in his stool again last night.  They ran a white blood cell count and did a x-ray on his intestines, and saw some abnormality that they didn’t see the day before, so they are re-inserting the nutrition IV and taking him completely off his (breast milk) feedings until they figure out what’s going on.  He is also being put on antibiotics to help with any possible infection he may have, which makes us feel a little bit better, but of course we are still scared.  I asked if the blood in his stool is painful, and the doctor said he hadn’t seen Max act any fussier or different than he has been, so that’s reassuring.  He actually said that both babies are looking great, and if he was just monitoring them based on looks, they would both get 100% (awwww).

In other news, both Max and Wes lost 10 grams yesterday, which isn’t a huge amount (and certainly isn’t anything to be concerned about), but it’s also not a gain, which is obviously what Jeff and I are looking for. 

I’m so glad it’s my day to hold Max – I think maybe all he needs is a little bit of love from his mommy, and I know I need some snuggles from him, too.

Kerry

7 Responses to “Poor little Max”

  1. Tarah said

    😦

    I’m so sorry little Max. I hope you get to feeling better soon.

    And I’m so sorry that you and Jeff are going through this trying time. You’re in my thoughts daily and know that I’m here if you ever need anything.


    T

  2. krazykids said

    Poor Max! I hope that everything clears up soon.

  3. HuskerLissa said

    Hugs and prayers!

  4. Brenda and John said

    Poor little Max. I hope that figure out what is going on soon.

  5. lauraandlee said

    Aw Kerry, steps backwards are never fun 😦 I hope Max (and mom and dad) feel better soon and they can figure out a cause. Get in lots of snuggling time! Lots of hugs. 🙂

  6. Kiane said

    Poor little Max 😦 I hope they figure out what is going on very soon, so they can get it taken care of! Enjoy the snuggles and I’m sure Max will love getting cuddle time with mommy!

  7. militarywifealways said

    Praying for Max, that he has a speedy recovery

Leave a Reply

