Dr. Jackass

March 1, 2009

Imagine walking into your boys’ NICU room expecting to see the same two isolettes you’ve seen every day for 13 days, only to see one.  Can you imagine the thoughts and scenarios that would be running through your head?!?!  Yeah, that happened to us when we went to visit Max and Wes this morning.  You know why?  Because the weekend NICU doctor, Dr. Jackass, failed to mention that because little Max might have an infection that could spread to Wes (or other babies in the NICU), he was moved to an isolation room on the other side of the NICU.  Jesus.  Talk about giving two new parents the scare of their lives!  Freakin’ idiot!

Our poor little guy was all alone (which meant Wes was all alone, too) in a small room on the other side of the NICU.  Anyone who enters his room must wear a special sterile gown and gloves and wash their hands about 5,000 times while they’re in the room, when they arrive, and before they leave.  Max’s IV is back in his little head, but you would never know that he might be sick – he was acting completely normal, even smiling for his mommy and daddy.  But it was heartbreaking to see him all alone, and now we’re even more scared that something may be seriously wrong with him.  Of course it could be absolutely nothing, but it may come down to him needing some sort of surgery on his intestines/bowel area, and that scares the crap out of me.  They are running more blood work and x-rays on him tonight at 6, so I’m hoping Dr. Jackass will call with those results so that I can sleep a little bit tonight.

You know, I can handle it taking three years for us to finally get pregnant.  I can handle draining all of our savings and money market accounts to do so.  I can also handle a less-than-ideal pregnancy and the scary early delivery of our boys.  And believe it, or not, I can handle them being in the NICU for 6-8 weeks, although it’s by far the hardest thing I’ve ever had to deal with.  What I cannot handle is worrying about one of my little boys being sick.  A preemie that can’t come home because he can’t suck, swallow, and breathe on his own is one thing – a preemie that can’t come home because he is sick is a completely different story.  Please, PLEASE let this just be another roadblock, and nothing too serious…I really do not think I can handle that. 

Kerry

p.s. We took a little video of both boys today, and hope to have them on the blog later tonight or tomorrow, so stay tuned!

12 Responses to “Dr. Jackass”

  1. taratru said

    Oh, Kerry…I know it will all be okay. I KNOW it. Hugs and love to all of you!

  2. Lanie & Shane said

    Oh, poor little Max! And poor Wes and you guys for being separated from him. You’ll have my thoughts that whatever is going on resolves itself. (((HUGS)))

  3. Sara said

    ((HUGS))!! Hoping for good news from the test results!

  4. Cathy said

    HUGS to you guys. All my appendages are crossed for you. I hope they figure out what’s going on and that it’s something minor.

  5. Robin said

    I am so sorry. I will definitely keep your little guy in my prayers! I hope he feels better soon!

  6. Tarah said

    Oh man. I am so very sorry. Thinking of you and sending lots of good thoughts your way.

    ((HUGS))

  7. Anna said

    Kerry, I’ll keep you guys in my prayers. You have to have a break coming sometime soon!

  8. anngoldenberg said

    {{{Hugs}}}

  9. Steph said

    I’m sorry you guys had such a scare! You’re still in my prayers, I hope whatever is going on with little Max is nothing serious and he gets to be with his brother again soon!

  10. Katey said

    Poor little Max (and Wes too for being separated from his brother). They’ll both continue to be in my thoughts and prayers. I would have to agree with the doc though – looking at them, they look wonderful and perfect.
    {{HUGS}}

  11. Noell said

    Poor little Max! I hope they figure out what’s wrong asap and he gets better so he can join his brother!

  12. Stacy said

    You know – there always seems to be one Dr./Nurse that just doesn’t get it. Saying prayers for Max and for all of you. {{HUGS}}

Leave a Reply

