Scare in the NICU this morning

February 20, 2009

I went into the NICU at 9 this morning for Cares (changing both Max & Wes, and taking their temps) and right when I was getting ready to start on Max, I felt a drip on my head.  The ceiling was leaking.  Not that big of a deal until about 20 seconds later when the ceiling board came loose and water just gushed EVERYWHERE.  All over Max’s isolette, all over the gazillion cords and plugs that he’s attached to – EVERYWHERE.  Jesus Christ, I thought I was going to stand there and watch my son be electrocuted.  It certainly didn’t help that I got virtually no sleep last night and I’m already an emotional wreck! 

Seriously.  Thankfully, the NICU team worked at mach speeds to get Max out of the way first, and then Wes.  Both boys have since been moved to the private room next door (which does not have a leaking roof), and they figured out what the leak was (the steam room is right above the NICU, but only above the room the boys were in before).  Neither one of our little guys had a clue on what was going on, as they pretty much slept through all of the commotion.  Once they were settled into their new room, I went ahead and changed both of their little diapers and took their temps.  Max peed all over his belly like he always does, and Wes spared his mommy from using an extra wipe, per the usual. 

I skipped Cares at noon because I was sleeping, but I’m on my way back over there in a few minutes and just wonder what’s in store for us this time.  Oh yeah, I’m not being discharged until 6 tonight, which is actually fine with me.  My OB wants to talk a little more with me about PPD, which I think is an excellent idea.

Kerry

13 Responses to “Scare in the NICU this morning”

  1. Alexis said

    OMG! Straight out of Greys!…I’m so glad they weren’t affected by it all and the nurses were able to move quickly. My heart would have jumped out.of.my.chest!

  2. Noell said

    Holy crap! I would have been freaking out! Thank goodness little guys are okay and in their own room! Yikes!
    (Sidenote: if you can figure out how to cover that little weiner before it pees everywhere will you let me know?! I am still scared of changing DS’s diaper…been hit one too many times! LOL!)

  3. Auntie Barb said

    Holy shit. I’m so glad all was ok with the little ones.

  4. militarywifealways said

    How scary glad the little men are ok

  5. Brenda and John said

    OMG, Kerry, I can’t imagine what a scare that must have been. I’m glad the NICU team was so quick to act. And I’m glad that everyone is ok.

  6. taratru said

    Sweet God good Lord. I want you to know how much I’m thinking of you and hoping you are doing well.

  7. Cara said

    Holy Hell! Glad everyone is ok….and the pee…I have taken more pee showers than I care to admit….its never ending! I don’t take pee showers anymore, but with 4 boys I clean toilets like a Nazi! Thinking of you lots.

  8. Katey said

    Oh my gosh! I would have freaked watching something like that happening!
    Lots of {{HUGS}}

  9. Steph said

    I’m so glad the boys are OK. I’m still getting surprised by pee showers every now and then. As soon as you let your guard down they will get ya!

  10. lilcyndiluwho said

    GEEZUS! I can’t believe that happend in real life. I’m just glad everything is ok. More (((hugs))) for you.

    I’d recommend peepee teepees but Niko always peed so hard the little teepee just shot right and hit me before the pee did.

  11. Lanie & Shane said

    Holy crap! What a day! (((HUGS)))

  12. Kiane said

    Oh my gosh, I would have totally freaked out! I’m so glad the boys were unfazed by it and are settled into their new room.

    I also still get surprised by pee showers – I even try covering him with a washcloth, but he always grabs it and pulls it away when I’m not paying attention 🙂

  13. krazykids said

    OMG! That’s so scary. Glad the boys are ok.

Leave a Reply

