Valentine Schmalentine

February 14, 2009

Most of you know me, and know that I cannot stand “celebrating” Valentine’s Day.  I think it’s quite possibly one of the silliest “holidays” out there (especially for adults to observe), and just do not understand the appeal of spending twice the amount you would normally spend on flowers, waiting to sit down at a restaurant that usually doesn’t have a wait, or giving/getting chocolates in a heart-shaped box that taste like they could have been made last Valentine’s Day.  Maybe that makes me a bah humbug, maybe it means I’m just not a romantic person, who knows?

That said, my husband is the eternal romantic.  He is always doing little things that are totally sweet and thoughtful, and when we first met he LOVED celebrating Valentine’s Day.  I think he was just glad/proud to have a girlfriend, which always made me feel really good, but c’mon!  The first February 14th that passed, he sent me three separate bouquets of flowers to work at three separate times.  The first bouquet was a half dozen red roses, and the card read “I”, the second bouquet was two dozen red, pink, and white roses, and the card read “Love”, and the third bouquet was a mixed bouquet and was about three times the size of my head, and the card read…wait for it…”You”.  It was incredibly sweet, and I have to admit that it was nice having everyone at work oooh and aaah over how terrific my boyfriend was, but again – c’mon

I started feeling guilty about my dislike of celebrating Valentine’s Day, especially after Jeff continued to shower me with love, affection, flowers, homecooked meals, etc. every February 14th, so eventually I gave in, and started buying him a Valentine’s Day card every year.  But that’s it.  A card.  I hope I didn’t ruin it for him, but I just do not see the point in all of the hoopla.  Last year, I forgot to buy him a card, so I made him one at work (it was SUPER cheesy and silly, involving Jeff and Kerry stick figures), and when I proudly presented it to him, I got nothing in return.  I have to admit that I was just a tiny bit disappointed, but then I realized…seven years later, and he finally gets it.

He understands that I don’t need a Valentine’s Day – one stupid day a year – for him to tell/show me how much I mean to him, and vice versa, because I get that the other 364 (sometimes 365) days a year.  I do believe that our marriage is one of those that other people envy and long for, and I do believe that Jeff is one-of-a-kind.  Sometimes I seriously cannot believe how incredibly lucky I am to have someone in my life who loves and adores me as much as Jeff does, but I have him, and I’m keepin’ him!  And I hope, on this 14th day of February, and every day the follows, that he knows just how much I love and adore him, and how much I cannot wait for us to start this next chapter of our life together.

And just because I want to show you all that I’m not a total bah humbug, I just have to show you what my friend, Melissa, dropped off today (along with dinner for tonight).  And can you believe that she made this – she didn’t buy it at the store (like I would have)!  So freakin’ cute!  Thanks, buddy!   

dsc01216

I hope everyone enjoys their days with their loved ones – today and everyday!

Kerry

5 Responses to “Valentine Schmalentine”

  1. lvblvd said

    awwwww!!! He loves you : ) And so glad sweet little Rex got a cookie!

  2. Beth M said

    Kerry, you really are among the blessed, even if it doesn’t always feel like it. I love ya! (And, those are the super cutest cookies!!!)

  3. Noell said

    Awwwwww…I’m sure after reading this Jeff’s Valentine’s Day was made! How sweet!
    Hope those cookies tasted as good as they look…YUM!!

  4. militarywifealways said

    Your friend Melissa is very talented, I could try to do that but then I would have to bury it, lol. I have not met you two in person but I can tell the love you two have for each other is unmeasureable :0)

  5. Cathy said

    I’m kind of bah-humbug about Valentine’s Day too, but holy crap those cookies are cute! (And they look yummy!)

Leave a Reply

