28 weeks today!!!

February 1, 2009

28 WEEKS!!!  WE MADE OUR FIRST MILESTONE AND THE BABIES ARE STILL WHERE THEY BELONG!!!!  YAY!!!!!!  Weeks 24-28 are very important with regards to the babies’ development, and I have made it!!!!  And…I’m seven months pregnant (and in the THIRD TRIMESTER), which is so hard for me to wrap my mind around.  Aside from how slow things to be moving with this bed rest and all, it seems like yesterday when we found out that our one and only round of IVF was successful.  I can’t believe the boys will be here so soon, and we will finally have the family we’ve always dreamed of having!

The babies should weigh around 2 1/4 pounds each by now, and be around 15 inches long, but we will know for sure once we have our perinatologist appointment on Wednesday.  I just can’t wait to see how big they’ve gotten, we haven’t had a growth scan since I was released from the hospital, so it’s been a while!  The boys are blinking all the time now, and I’m really hoping that they have Jeff’s gorgeous eyelashes (I guess my eyelashes aren’t too shabby either).  They should also be able to see the light that filters in from the outside world through my womb, which is super cool.

This is what fraternal twins look like in the womb at 28 weeks, except our little guys look a little different.  The baby on the right (in this picture) would be considered Baby A, because he is closest to the cervix.  Our Baby A, Bo, is currently head-down, and always has been (at every single ultrasound), but his little brother is normally transverse (lays crossways above Baby A) or breech, depending on the day.  I don’t think Go has ever been head-down, which further proves that he is going to be our little trouble maker.  =)twins_week28_rollover_index

Oh, and I don’t know if I ever mentioned anything on here, but I passed my GD (gestational diabetes) test with flying colors.  I guess all of that eating well and exercising (pre-bed rest) paid off!  I took the test the day I was admitted to the hospital, so I’m pretty sure I didn’t say anything!

Kerry

15 Responses to “28 weeks today!!!”

  1. ischwab said

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

  2. Steph said

    Hooray!!! Congrats on making this huge milestone!

  3. Beth M said

    YAY!!!! I’m so happy for you and Jeff! Congratulations on yet another milestone!!

  4. krazykids said

    Hooray!!! Welcome to the third trimester!

  5. Sock said

    Congratulations on hitting this major milestone!!!! Each week further along helps those boys prepare for delivery. I hope the “oven” cooperates for as long as possible – better for the boys, better for you and Jeff.

    Congrats on passing the GD test as well. You’re doing great, Kerry!

  6. Cathy said

    Yay for such a major milestone! You took those boys from “barely viable” to likely to do really well already. Keep it up!

  7. Sara said

    Congrats!!! 32 weeks is just around the corner!

  8. Heather said

    YAY! I’m so glad to hear things are going so well!

  9. Molly said

    Yay for your big milestone!! You’re a rockstar mom already!

  10. twodaisies said

    Congrats Kerry on making it this far! Keep it up – you are doing so well!

  11. heather (shuttlebunny) said

    Hooray for 28 weeks, Kerry! :o)

  12. maydaygirl said

    amazing!!!!

  13. Erin said

    Hello! Your friend Jenn told me to stop by your blog for some encouragement. I am starting my stim medication for our first IVF tonight. We also had 4 cycles of failed IUIs and are hoping IVF works on the first time. Congrats on your pregnancy!

  14. Ondrea said

    Congrats!!!! you are doing a great job of growing those boys!

  15. chavell said

    Congrats!! On the babies. I am 28 weeks with twins right now!!

Leave a Reply

