25 Things

January 26, 2009

My cycle buddy, Lanie, tagged me to play the “25 Things” game.

Rules: Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you.

I’m going to skip tagging 25 people…I think this thing has made it around the block several times, I’ve just never participated before.  Of course, if you feel like posting this in your blog, go for it!  And here we go!

1.  I wet the bed at night until I was 6 years old.

2.  When I was in preschool, my mom dressed me in a fancy dress, and I didn’t want to get it dirty, so when I walked in the door for the day, I simply took my dress off.  Might help explain why I don’t like/wear dresses now…

3.  I would guess that Jeff has only seen me in a dress maybe 12 times since we’ve been together (8 years). 

4.  Two of those times were the day of our rehearsal and our wedding day.

5.  I was going to wear a dress to my baby shower, but didn’t have it at the hospital.  Lanie suggested that I wear it to the hospital when I go in to have the babies, LOL!

6.  I beat the kid who ended up getting a full ride scholarship to Harvard in the fourth grade spelling  bee. 

7.  He cried.

8.  That same kid told me once that eating as much junk food as I did would eventually catch up to me. 

9.  He was right.  Instead of gaining the “Freshman 15”, I gained the “Freshman 25”.

10.  I used to be extremely self-conscious about the size of my nose, and even considered getting a nose job at some point.

11.  My dad told me if I did, he would cut me out of the will (we share the same nose, and he was adopted so it’s just him and I with the “Skinner Slope”).

12.  I’m better about my nose now, but if you’ve ever noticed I never wear my hair in a ponytail.  It’s because I hate how my profile looks when I wear my hair up.

13.  Jeff thinks I look cute in a ponytail, but I still don’t wear it up in public (unless I’m at the gym).

14.  I wrecked my car once in high school, got it back from the shop, and wrecked it less than a week later just miles down the road.

15.  I haven’t had a speeding ticket since 1995 (knock on wood), although I should have several dozen by now with the way I normally drive.

16.  Jeff has gotten a speeding ticket every year but one that we’ve been married. 

17.  The last one was totally my fault, I told him to speed.

18.  I dated my college roommate’s ex-boyfriend after they broke up.  When he dumped  me, I started dating his step-brother.

19.  It was confusing on which of the parents to suck up to.  The ex’s dad or the current boyfriend’s mom?

20.  I wanted a cheap Vegas wedding – you know, the kind where you “drive thru” to get married?  But Jeff wanted a big, flashy wedding with tons of family and friends, so that’s what we did.

21.  I didn’t wear a veil or a tiera on our wedding day – and my hair pretty much looked the same as it does every day.  I refused to do an “updo” just because you’re “supposed to”. 

22.  My attendants and my Dad and I walked down the aisle to the same song – and it was from the sex scene in the movie Cruel Intentions.  My Dad did not know this.

23.  I didn’t change my last name until Jeff and I were married for a year.  I hadn’t ever planned on doing so, but couldn’t think of anything to get him for our anniversary, so I just went for it.

24.  That just might have been the happiest day of his life…he really didn’t think I would ever do it.

25.  Actually, I think the happiest day of his (and my) life will be when these boys are born.

Kerry

4 Responses to “25 Things”

  1. twodaisies said

    I did almost the same thing as #23. I used Lars’ last name on the marriage certificate – but then just really couldn’t bring myself to change it on everything. Since the 1 year anniversary is “paper” that’s when I decided to go for it. (Although I still practice law under my maiden name – I just couldn’t bring myself to do it all the way.)

  2. Alexis said

    Awesome anniversary gift! I wanted a nose job too…I’m over it. Love that you still hold close you beat the kid who went to Harvard in the spelling bee. One day you’ll be bragging to BoGo about it…just watch.

  3. jkmastera said

    Marci, I should have added that I didn’t even “change” my name…I just added Jeff’s last name onto my (already perfect) name. =) And I did it because of the paper thing, too. That is too funny!

    And Alexis, get out! You have a cute nose!

  4. Megan S said

    I laughed out loud at #22. Awesome. And I feel for you on #1 – I had a terrible time with that.

Leave a Reply

