Another day, another award

January 22, 2009

Just kidding, I think this is only my second or third blog award, but it still humbles me to think (a) that more than two people actually read our blog on a daily basis, and (b) someone thinks it’s one of the best out there.  So cool.  My friend, Cyndi, is the one who nominated me for this prestigious award, so I would like to thank her by saying a few words…

Cyndi is a one-of-a-kind.  I remember the first time I met her – it was at our cooking club that meets once a month (I was the newbie in the group), and she came with her (then) baby boy.  I was mesmerized by this baby boy’s eyes.  They were absolutely gorgeous.  His long eyelashes and fine, red hair (which has since turned into a head FULL of adorable red curls) made his eyes “pop” just like the right eyeshadow and mascara makes a supermodel’s eyes “pop”.  Anyway, I still can not get over how adorable (and wicked smart) her son is, how good of a mother she’s always been to him, and how much both of them have grown in the last two plus years.  She’s now a single mom, and doing the most amazing job of juggling her boy, work, play, and finally (sorry Cyn) dating.  I have a ridiculous amount of respect for this woman, my friend, and only hope that I can be just as good of a mommy to our boys as she is to hers.       

And finally, presenting –

butterfly-award-for-the-coolest-blo

These are the rules:

1.  Put the logo on your blog
2.  Link to the person who gave you the award
3.  Nominate 10 other blogs and link to them
4.  Leave a message for the nominees on their blogs

I’m going to copy Cyndi and only nominate 5 other blogs because I have other things to post about today…so without further adieu –

1.  Liz – for making me giddy with anticipation to see new pictures of her daughter, her dog, her husband, her…she is an amazing photographer.

2.  Alexis – my Minnesota buddy who is a week further along than we are with boy/girl twins.  We recently discovered our boobs were the same size pre-pregnancy, and if that isn’t a reason to nominate someone, I don’t know what is!

3.  Tara – because WAY more people should be reading her blog.  She has such a way with words, even if it’s four-letter ones!

4.  Stacy – one day we will meet IRL, she just lives down the street and went to the same fertility clinic we went to.  She just over 9 weeks pregnant with her little miracle, and I couldn’t be happier for her!

5.  Ummm, I was going to nominate someone here, but I don’t think she wants the whole world knowing she has a blog, so I’m going to pass.

Onto more fun things…

I had three (actually four, my  father-in-law stopped by for a few minutes) visitors today – Stacie (my old sushi buddy…oh how I miss those days), her ADORABLE almost 6-month old daughter Gabriella, and my dear friend, Biz.  Stacie came over to drop off these…

dsc01069

…cupcakes from our favorite bakery – and there were three for me (the one labeled “Rex” is NOT going to the dog, he already got my Blizzard, dammit!)and one for Jeff.  LOL!  I was so glad she brought Baby G because I had never met her before, and she’s simply precious!  Thank you, Stacie!

Biz brought me lunch (Silvermine Subs…YUM) and some things for the boys…

dsc01071

 

…three adorable onesies (God help me if the doctors have been wrong all along and there are really three in there) and two little tiny pairs of pants.  So cute!!!!

 

 

We then sat around and talked for a few hours, just like old times (except instead of talking about boys and how much we drank the night before we talked about babies and Facebook).  It was so great catching up with one of the first people I met when I moved here (who just happened to become one of my best friends).

Mom (aka the “Enforcer”) left for the weekend (she misses my Daddy, awwww), but will be back Monday, so if anyone wants to come over and do cartwheels and jumping jacks with me, come on over!!!!

Kerry

5 Responses to “Another day, another award”

  1. Beth M said

    I’m so sad you posted pictures of those cupcakes……drool!!!

  2. taratru said

    Thanks for the blog love, buddy! 🙂 I need to come see you…I’m starting to feel bad.

    And my GOD, do I want a cupcake now.

  3. lauraandlee said

    Thanks for the updates, Kerry – you’re on my Google Reader and I LOVE when you have updates and pictures. Thinking about you and BoGo every day. 🙂

  4. Alexis said

    Aaaahhh the little tata club. We’re in trouble Kerry…I’ve heard they get smaller than what you started with post pregnancy! Thanks for the blog love.

  5. Stacy said

    Thank you so much Kerry! I am going to have to check out that bakery – yum!

Leave a Reply

