Spanako-what?

January 21, 2009

“Spanako-what”, Jeff asks me when I told him last night what we were having for dinner.  “Spanakopita,” I say.  For those of you who don’t know, spanakopita is a Greek spinach pie made with spinach (duh), feta cheese, onions, and phyllo dough.  I’ve only had it at two local Greek restaurants, and it was so good both times – I’m pleased to say that Sarah’s spanakopita did NOT disappoint (she brought some pita chips and hummus to munch on while the spanakopita was cooking)!  Also, on the plate are homemade gingersnaps, and holy YUM – they will be gone by the end of the night, guaranteed.  =)

dsc01068

Sarah’s daughter, Olivia, who is just a little punkin, also came over.  She was more interested in pulling newspapers off our coffee table, and then neatly stacking them back on.  Oh, and letting Tara feed her – she likes snacks!  Doesn’t she look like she just got caught with her hand in the cookie jar?

dsc01059

Sarah came with Tara, who I had never met before (she and I met on a message board, and have become quick friends over emails and message boards) – and it was SOOOOO good to finally meet her!  And look what she brought me…I was most excited for the blueberries, cheese, and the bruschetta toasts, but everything looks so great! 

dsc01065

Thanks for a great dinner, awesome conversation, and fun snacks, Tara, Sarah, and little Olivia!

Kerry

4 Responses to “Spanako-what?”

  1. Beth M said

    Your friends all bring you such yummy things! I’m not sure I can compete! I can’t wait to see you.

  2. angelika05 said

    I will give you a spanko. 😉

  3. Alexis said

    That looks gooood.

  4. liz said

    yum! it all looks so good. sarah’s gingersnaps ROCK! i could eat them by the dozen.

Leave a Reply

