A historical day to say the least!

January 20, 2009

Mom, Rex, and I started off watching the day’s events (where Rex was decked out in his “Bark for Barack” shirt for a few photo ops)…

dsc01042

 

 

 

 

 

 

dsc01043

 

Rex is VERY excited to have a new commander-in-chief, but not so excited to wear his t-shirt (he doesn’t particularly like dressing up, but will do anything for treats).

Mom and I really enjoyed watching the day’s events.  I got goosebumps when Obama gave his inaugural speech.  And as much as it pains my father to hear this, I’m sooooo ready for some change!

 

Then, I got all dressed up with three places to go.  I wore my designer jeans, my red cashmere sweater, eyeshadow and everything (Jest by MAC just in case you were wondering)!  It was so nice to wear something other than yoga pants and a t-shirt!  Mom wanted me to get a recent picture on the blog so my Dad could see how big I was getting – so here you go, Daddy!

dsc010451

First of all, we had an appointment to see our perinatologist, Dr. Haybourne.  It went really well.  They measured my cervix, and thankfully it was measuring at 3.3 (I think when they released me from the hospital it was measuring at a 3.6), and it was for the most part (when they didn’t apply pressure to it) closed.  Thank GOD for Dr. H’s magic cerclage, which is still doing a fantastic job of holding my babies in where they belong!  They did a short ultrasound where we got a great shot of Go’s sweet little face, and a not-so-great shot of Bo’s ear (he was hiding from us, as usual).  They didn’t do a growth scan (I wasn’t due for another one of those for two more weeks), but they will do one next time I see them, which will be in two weeks.

Then, we went to my OB’s office, where the Dr. did a quick weight check (right on track, I’m up just about 24 pounds), blood pressure check (normal at 120/70),  and listened to both babies’ heartbeats.  Bo’s heartrate was 158, and Go’s was 162 (still no mention of Bo’s irregular heartbeat, and we totally forgot to ask).  The Dr. was totally impressed by the fact that I knew exactly where each baby was, and where to find their hearts.  I guess it pays to be in the hospital and have them check the babies’ vitals four times a day!  We talked a little bit with the OB about what their expectations were (that I would continue the bed rest as the peri directed), and what our expectations were with working side-by-side with them and our peri.  It was a great appointment, mostly because this time I didn’t leave in a wheelchair and go straight to the hospital…

…Jeff then took me to Starbucks to celebrate our successful doctors appointments and making it one whole week on bed rest.  I enjoyed a lovely iced green tea latte and a red velvet cupcake.  Jeff had his usual mocha.  Then, we headed home.

Ivory (the girl who spear-headed our meal delivery schedule) came over shortly after we got home and brought us this…

dsc010551

Delicious meatloaf (with homemade tomato sauce), garlic mashed potatoes, and OMG – oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.

And this… dsc01049

Her seriously-too-cute-for-words daughter, Emma.  She is such a little ham!  You can totally tell that her Daddy is a photographer…she totally knows how to work it in front of the camera.

 

dsc01050

 

 

 

Emma giving Jeff some love…

 

 

And I’m spent.

Kerry

9 Responses to “A historical day to say the least!”

  1. ischwab said

    It was great to see you!! Next time I’m bringing something *prettier*, meatloaf isn’t very photogenic!

  2. Chrissy said

    Yay for good appointments and Starbucks!

  3. Brenda said

    You look fantastic! I’m sure it was nice to get out for a few hours.

  4. Allyson said

    Kerry, you look amazing and so tiny! I’m glad that you had a nice day!

  5. Alexis said

    I’m so glad everything went well! You look fabulous!

  6. Deanne said

    Well I’d say you look just freaking awesome there lady! You are so deserving of such great friends and if the saying you get what you give is true, then well, I’d say you’re definitely getting your due! Stay well, stay pg, and enjoy your alone time w/ Jeff and Rex while you can! ; ) I think of you often, I’m just busy w/ my own life changes right now and have a hard time keeping up!

  7. Noell said

    You look fantastic Kerry!! So glad that things are going well for you and those little guys!

  8. Everything in this post is great – but Rex steals teh show!! I wish he could meet Spike and Beefy : ) Except they might beat him up in their elephant (Repbulican) gear!! hahaha
    You look so great! Hope bedrest continues to treat you well!

  9. jkmastera said

    I look tiny? Awwww, you’re cute Allyson!

    And I don’t know if Rex is scared of getting beat up by two Republican Yorkies, but I’m thinking he’s not…

Leave a Reply

