25 weeks yesterday (and an update from hospital-land)!!!

January 12, 2009

Well, this is a little bit of a different update than everyone is used to (and a day late for the first time ever – eek!), but I wanted to keep up with the integrity of the blog for my friends/family/readers, so here ya go!  25 weeks obviously means a lot more to Jeff and I than it would have, had the last  5 days not rolled out like they did.  We could potentially have one or two very, very tiny babies, or no babies at all, but thankfully we don’t have to think about what might have been because for now, the BoGo are safe and sound where they belong.

mo6_lg1

For the next three weeks, the BoGo are the size of eggplants.  And because we just had a monitoring appointment, we know that they are both around 1.75 pounds each (and about 13 1/2 inches long), which is pretty damn good for twins at this gestational age.  The boys are getting a little baby fat on their thin little bodies, and their wrinkled skin will begin to smooth out as the weeks go on.  If our boys are going to have hair when they’re born, it has already started to grow – I have a feeling they are going to be tow heads just like their mommy and daddy were.

I still haven’t received the results from my glucose test (that I did before I was admitted on Wednesday), but I’m assuming that if it were bad news, I would be on a restricted diet right now.  Tomorrow at 9:30 a.m. I have my checkup and ultrasound with the perinatologist to see how the stitches are holding up, and to make sure the boys are snuggled in for the long haul.  I don’t want to get my hopes up, but they did tell me that if everything goes well at my appointment tomorrow, I could potentially be going home tomorrow afternoon!  I will still be on home bed rest for the remainder of my pregnancy, and although it will be hard (my peri doesn’t want me sitting up or standing for anymore than two hours a day every day), I know what I have to do, and why.

More to come later, my mom and aunt just got here, and I need to lay down…

Kerry

3 Responses to “25 weeks yesterday (and an update from hospital-land)!!!”

  1. alexis said

    I hope the appointment goes well tomorrow. Keep us posted!

  2. Dawn (d.f) said

    I hope you appointment goes well and you get to continue your bedrest at home for a very long time. When I was on BR I was only allowed up to take a shower and use the restroom. It didn’t help the heartburn but I became very proficient at eating while laying on my side. Sending good thoughts!

  3. HuskerLissa said

    GL! Wow, sitting up too? I thought you were just confined to bed not moving around. Please let me know if I can help – I’m pretty good at dusting, laundry and dishes. Could even do windows for you.

Leave a Reply

