A long time coming (continued)

January 11, 2009

Sorry about that (last night), I know many of you are waiting for updates, particularly since I can’t post all about my shower on the message boards I frequent because someone is out to get me here (not really, but seriously?).  So here it goes…

First of all, a picture of me and my wonderful shower hosts, Kristy and LeAnn (photo taken by Ann)…

myshower-hosts

And the proud mommy and daddy-to-be (photo taken by Tara)…

momanddad

And look at this – a cloth diaper cake made by my good friend, Beth…

clothdiapercake

PRESENTS!!!!!!!

presents

And mimosas (that’s Mary in the background and Ann filling her glass – AGAIN – but give  her a break, she has three kids under 3 1/2!) and food – YUMMMMMM!

mimosas

showerfood

More decorations – they had strung up onesies all over the back wall.  It was SO CUTE!!!!  These are my friends, Sarah, Kate, Molly, and Liz.

tfgirls

Yesterday was absolutely more than I ever could have asked for.  LeAnn and Kristy worked SO HARD to make my shower day special for me, since it wasn’t exactly under ideal conditions.  But  honestly, aside from not being able to get up to hug my friends, and getting really tired from opening all of the wonderful gifts my friends got the BoGo, I didn’t really even think about it being in the hospital. 

When they wheeled me into the waiting room, I was absolutely blown away.  There were decorations EVERYWHERE!  Blue and brown (the color of our nursery) were intertwined with black and white, and everything looked so clean and crisp.  LeAnn made the CUTEST cake (with homemade frosting I might add) that was my favorite, yellow cake with chocolate frosting.  It had two little duckies on top of a blue pool of water.  I will have to wait for someone to send me a picture of it, because I don’t have one.  Kristy (and her husband, Joel) worked incredibly hard on the shower favors, which were a compilation of lullabies for the BoGo (and some of mommy and daddy’s favorite songs).  I just know that all of my friends will love these CD’s – what a clever idea!  We played two games – one was a celebrity baby naming game (that Tara and Steph tied for first place on), and the other one was a game where LeAnn asked Jeff and I which person we wanted certain characteristics to come from for our boys.  For example, “Whose nose do you want the boys to have?”  Answer – “JEFF!”

I hope all of my friends had a good time, and I do want to apologize that I didn’t get a picture with everyone before the “fun police” (aka my nurse) came to take me back to my room.  I am a little glad I got taken away because I was EXHAUSTED, and I really did need to rest a little bit.  They hooked me up to the monitors after I got back to the room, and the babies were going crazy! 

monitoring

Too much excitement for them, I guess.  I was contracting pretty hard, so they had me just lay down and relax, and before you knew it, I had a two hour nap under my belt.  When I woke up, I had to fumble around for my camera to catch this beautiful Colorado sunset from outside my window…

sunset1

I need to take another nap before my afternoon monitoring (and the few visitors I’m expecting today, including my dog – YES – Rex gets to come visit today, so I will leave you with more pictures of my kick-ass friends and I from one of the happiest days of my life…

Jeff and I with his mom (on the left), and my mom (on the right)…

themoms

Beth (left) and Liz (right)…

bethliz

Steph, Deb, and Kresha (these are some hometown buddies I’ve known forever!)

stephdebkresh3

This is (from left to right) Mary, Tara, Katey, Ann, and Lanie, some of my favorite Nesties!

nesties

Kari, Jaime, and Lori

karijaimelori

Laura and Peyton

laurapeyton

My wonderful neighbor, Nancy, and I…

nancy

These are my first friends I made here in Colorado (we all worked at the Macaroni Grill), Biz, Dayna Rae, and Maureen…

bizdraemo

Tiff, Katey, and I

tiffkatey

My work  buddies, Angela (left) and Steph (right)

angsteph

My BFF (without the double-chin), Tara, and I

taraandi

Wow, do I feel loved!  This is (from left, counter-clockwise) Liz, Mary, Lanie, Kate, Sarah, and Molly.

girlsandi

And I’ll end with the tiniest of guests yesterday.  This is Charlotte, another product of love (and IVF) from our favorite RE, Dr. Swanson.  Her proud parents are Catherine and Doug, and Jeff and I couldn’t be happier for them!

charlotte

jeffcharlie

Thank you to EVERYONE who made yesterday so incredibly special for me (and Jeff).  I knew I would have a hard time putting my feelings into words, but just know how much Jeff and I appreciate everyone’s love, support, and friendship.  We love you!!!!

Kerry

15 Responses to “A long time coming (continued)”

  1. Marci said

    So glad you had a great time! You definitely deserve it!

  2. Mom said

    Hi Dear One,
    I got up late – was just getting ready to come over when I read your blog. A nap is definitly a good thing for you! So call when you want company. Your picture and comments on the shower are great. It was a memorable day!!

  3. alexis said

    Fabulous! Looks like the perfect party Kerry and talk about looking good…you look fantastic! Um…The Final Countdown didn’t make the CD playlist, did it? 😉

  4. Lanie said

    Kerry – it really was an absolutely beautiful shower!!! Kristy and LeAnn outdid themselves! I’m so glad that your contractions have mellowed. Those babies must have realized how much fun you were having and they wanted to come meet everyone – but they can TAKE THEIR TIME coming to visit. How about if we don’t see their bright, shining faces for 10 or 11 weeks???

  5. angelika05 said

    I am so jealous that you got to hold Charlotte!!!!!!!

  6. Sock said

    Thanks for sharing pictures of the shower – it looked fun! Now it’s time to focus on taking care of you. It’s scary that you’re still having contractions, Kerry. Take it very easy now. You don’t want to be having the babies this soon if you can help it. *sending relaxing thoughts to your uterus*

    Big hugs!!!

  7. Noell said

    Looks like you had a great time! Can I just ask…did the Nesties plan on dressing alike (black tops & jeans)?

  8. LeAnn said

    I so glad you enjoyed it- that was our whole goal!! Rest up because I think I am going to try to brin your favorite nephew tomorrow to see you!!

  9. Beth M said

    It brought me so much joy to see you be so happy!

  10. shawnandlarissa said

    Looks like the shower was a success!

  11. Catherine Jones said

    You and Jeff look like naturals with a baby…

  12. Megan S said

    You look so cute!! And so loved – it looked like a wonderful shower!

  13. kristy said

    Sis,

    I’m so glad you had a good time – and so happy you got to come to your own shower! HA!

    It was AWESOME seeing your buds that I know and meeting the ones that I didn’t. You have an AMAZING group of friends there! It makes me feel better knowing that you have so many wonderful people there who love you and who will help take care of you and the BoBo!

    It was nice spending the week with you! Even if it was under not-so-ideal circumstances. I’m glad I was there to tell those little rascals they’re not allowed to come meet us yet! And I got to bond with my favorite brother-in-law for a few days 🙂

    Miss you already and love you tons!! sis

  14. Tarah said

    You look so cute Kerry. I’m so glad that they let you have a baby shower in the hospital.

  15. Auntie Barb said

    What a great shower. Kerry, it is nice to have faces with names of gals that leave comments on your blog. I am glad you had such a great time at the shower. You are very loved!

Leave a Reply

