24 weeks today!!!

January 4, 2009

Wow.  What a milestone day today is.  Even though I have been telling people for a week that I’m 6 months pregnant, the day is actually TODAY!!!  And what an exciting few days it’s been – we’ve been getting our house more ready for the BoGo to come home – organizing, moving storage bins to the shed, putting together the nursery, etc.  Jeff and I worked on the house from 11-5 yesterday, and we got SO MUCH DONE, I’m just so proud of us (and hopefully today is a little more laid back)!  We were just at Babies R Us last night, and decided to check on our nursery furniture, and it came in two weeks ago!!!  They had fat-fingered my phone number, so they were just waiting for us to call them – yikes!  But holy cow, can I tell you how excited I am to FINALLY be able to set the cribs and the glider/ottoman up?!?!?!?  We are hoping that Marty (Jeff’s brother) and LeAnn get back from Steamboat early today so that we can borrow Marty’s truck (and his muscles) to get the stuff to our house.  I cannot believe that we might have our nursery set up by the time my sister gets here on Tuesday!!!!!  EEEEEEEEEEEEEKKKKKK!!!!

Yes, just a little bit excited.

The boys are still papayas this week (stay tuned for a produce change next week), and apparently my uterus is now above my belly button, which would explain why I’m getting bigger by the minute.  I still don’t really understand how some people think I’m “so HUGE”, because I think I look pretty damn good for being 6 months pregnant with TWINS.  The girl at Starbucks the other day couldn’t believe that I was only this big being that far along with twins – yeah, she got a tip.  Oh, and a sidenote – it’s never, ever, EVER a good idea to tell a pregnant woman how tired they look, even if they really do look tired (chances are – GASP – they probably are tired!).  I’m up about 25 pounds since the pregnancy started (right on track, I may add), and if I gain as my doctor wants me to, I still have at least 15-20 more pounds to go!  The babies should have gained around 4 ounces since last week, putting them both up at a little over a pound each, and I should be having my first gestational diabetes test sometime in the next few weeks.  I should also add that the BoGo are more active than ever right now, and sometimes their little kicks actually startle me!  That’s always fun – every time I jump with one of those strong kicks, it freaks out the people around me.  =)  

We have another ultrasound and ob appointment on Wednesday (which my sister will be going to with us – I’m SO excited for that), where the sonographer will re-take the measurements from the 20 week u/s just to make sure everything is still on track with the BoGo (this is common practice for moms of twins at the practice I go to).  They will look closely at Baby A’s heart rate, and if it’s still irregular and jumpy, we will  be scheduling a fetal echocardiogram to get a more in-depth look as to what may be causing the irregularity.  I’m still not too worried about it, as (a) there’s nothing we can do to “correct” anything that may be wrong, and (b) a lot of times these irregularities end up correcting themselves, particularly if the four chambers of the heart look normal (as Bo’s did).

Here is a picture showing what twins look like in the womb at 24 weeks –

twins_week24_rollover_index

Kerry

5 Responses to “24 weeks today!!!”

  1. Angie said

    I hope you have tons of fun with your sister this week!

  2. alexis said

    Yea for 6 months! It sounds like you guys have major nesting going on…isn’t it great!? I’m excited to see the furniture (don’t worry, BRU didn’t call us either when ours arrived). BTW- I looked for pasteurized Blue Cheese dressing and how can you tell? lol…

  3. Noell said

    Wow, I can’t believe that you’re already 24 weeks! Sounds like you’ve gotten a ton accomplished, you go girl! You’re on the home stretch, not much longer!

  4. LVBlvd said

    At times, I feel like it is going so slowly for me, but then I read your blog, and see you are six months and I don’t understand how that happened! 6 MONTHS!!!! YAY!!
    I know I have told you this before, but your attitude is so amazing to me. I love how you don’t let stress consume you. You have been this way since you announced your BFP on the TTTC board, and it is such an inspiration!

  5. Angelika said

    Kerry – you are getting so close to meeting Bo and Go! Eeek! And you SOOOOOO do not look anywhere close to being big for how far along you are with twins. I want to punch those people in the face!

Leave a Reply

