Question for the moms (or moms-to-be)

January 2, 2009

My baby shower is next weekend, and both Jeff and I worked really, really hard to register for the things we really want/need for the boys.  My friend, Ann (fellow twin mommy), was a SUPER resource in helping us register for the necessities like bottles, milk storage bags, nipple cream (stuff Jeff and I knew absolutely NOTHING about).  Anyway, my dilemma is that there are certain things on our registry that are “limited quantities” (i.e. being discontinued) – mostly our nursery decor (stuff like bedding and accessories), which we planned the paint color and furniture around.  I’m totally freaked out that Babies R Us will run out of these things, and then we will have an “incomplete” nursery.  I realize that it wouldn’t be the end of the world, but it would make me pretty sad since the two bedding sets are pretty much the only ones Jeff and I agreed on.

My question for the moms (or moms-to-be) is this – Would you go out and buy the things you really wanted to have just to make sure that you got them before they completely ran out of stock?

I know I’m being a little neurotic, but that’s just how I am.  And I feel the need to apologize to all of the moms (my friends) who I’ve purchased gifts for from somewhere other than their registry – you really register for a reason, don’t you?  I won’t ever make that mistake again!

Kerry

8 Responses to “Question for the moms (or moms-to-be)”

  1. ischwab said

    I noticed with a lot of my stuff that it would go in and out of stock both in the store and on the website. I would check online and it would be out and I would freak out and then the next week they would have it again. With your nursery decor is BRU the only place that carries it? I think since your shower is coming up that you should be okay 😉

  2. alexis said

    I swear we’re cut from the same cloth! I received one bedding set at my first shower and since we completed the nursery when my mother in law was in town I went out and bought the second set, but what we did was kept it on registry so someone can still purchase it for us. If someone does purchase it, we’ll exchange it for something else we’ll need that wasn’t taken from the registry (you’ll never run out of things you’ll need to get!): car seats, high chairs, diapers, bottles, play pen, etc.

  3. I bought mine, but also kept it on the registry!

  4. jkmastera said

    Ooooh, good idea Jenn!

  5. Ann said

    Ditto the pp! Buy it them, don’t take them off your registry, and when you’re checking out don’t tell BRU that you are buying off a registry. Obviously, if you get them at your shower you can always return the ones you bought.

  6. To answer your question…yes, yes, yes. I would hate to have a missing piece to a perfect nursery you have in your mind. Although, from dealing with Babies R Us, they usually get restocked.

  7. Noell said

    I would definitely go buy the stuff before it runs out of stock. With my luck I would wait thinking that someone would buy it for me, it wouldn’t happen and by the time I would go to buy it it’s gone. Story of my life! Go get girl!

  8. Molly said

    I would for sure buy it and not take it off the registry – just to see what happens. But once i decide on something it would be tragic (and lengthy) for me to redecide on something else. Damn Gemini in me.

Leave a Reply

