Drama kings

December 22, 2008

Seriously.  It’s a good thing the BoGo aren’t little girls, or I would have to say that we have some MAJOR drama queens on our hands.  I got a little worried this afternoon, after I hadn’t felt any movement from either of the boys since yesterday morning.  I called the nurse line at my ob’s office and told the nurse what was (or wasn’t) going on, and she told me to come on in.  I left work early, freaking out the whole way because after a TON of Christmas cookies and treats (thanks, Ang!), some OJ, and a little Kanye West on the iPod (I put the earbuds on my belly) I still wasn’t feeling anything.  This, coupled with the fact that I was pretty depressed about putting Freddie down yesterday, was not making for a good commute to the doctor’s office.  I think I cried almost the whole way.

All for nothing.  Seriously, not more than two minutes after the nurse put the doppler on my abdomen, and I heard both of my boys’ beautiful little heartbeats, both of those little shits started moving!  I got a big old kick from Bo (Baby A), and Go was just tapping away, darting away from the nurse as she glided the doppler wand across my tummy, trying to play hide-and-go-seek with her.  Thanks for the scare, you little brats!

Bo’s heartrate was 145, and Go’s was 150 – both very strong heartbeats for how far along I am.  The nurse still heard (and I heard for the first time) the little flutter in Bo’s heartrate that the sonographer was concerned with at our last ultrasound.  It’s nothing to be concerned about – yet – but it’s the reason I’ve been completely cut off from caffeine again, which is no big deal, considering the lengths we went to get pregnant with the BoGo in the first place.  Most of the time, these little flutters end up just going away, and that’s why Jeff and I aren’t going to spend any time freaking out about it.  They will likely do a fetal echocardiogram at our next ultrasound on January 7th, especially if the flutter hasn’t gone away.  So we’ll keep you posted!

In other news, we are totally loving our newfound square footage – the basement.  We really never used the basement before, mostly because the carpet was that disgusting – we just didn’t like being down there.  Now that we have new carpet, and a new furniture layout, it will be a nice place to gather family and friends when we are entertaining.  And it will also be a nice play area for the boys when they are big enough.  It’s so exciting!  Once we get everything settled, I will be sure to post pictures.

Kerry

4 Responses to “Drama kings”

  1. Lanie said

    Wow! Thanks to Facebook, I knew to check the blog for an update. What did we do before all these crazy things???

    I’m so glad to hear that the boys are doing well (after hiding from you for a day or two). I’m curious to see what develops from the “flutter”.

    Hope to see you soon, buddy. And . . . Merry Christmas!!!

  2. Angelika said

    Auntie Angelika thinks Bo and Go need an immediate time out when the are born! That is NOT funny boys!

  3. Deanne said

    Isn’t it amazing how they are in control of you already? Just wait, it gets better and it is wonderful. 😉 Good to hear they are all ok.

    Hugs about the doggie, that had to be difficult beyond words. (((HUGS)))

  4. kristy said

    Little naughties! Like mother like sons, though! J/K – glad all is ok. Can’t wait to see you in a couple of weeks! sis

Leave a Reply

