22 weeks today!!!

December 21, 2008

mo5_lg1

Weeks 21-24 the BoGo are the size of papayas, and nearing a foot long each!  Their lips, eyelids, and eyebrows are now almost fully-formed, and tooth buds are forming underneath their gums.  The eyes are formed, but there is no pigment in the irises yet, so we won’t know if they will have Jeff’s sky blue eyes, or my greyish-blue eyes that I got from my daddy.  Or maybe their eyes will be green, or brown, or hazel!  I can’t wait to find out.

There has been an increased interest in my growing belly these days, and while some women do not like their belly being touched, I absolutely love it.  I could go about my day all day long with an extra set of hands on my belly, and it wouldn’t phase me at all..I think it’s part of me liking to be the center of attention, who knows?  I know I need to eat this all up before the BoGo get here, because I am fully aware that once they get here, I’m chopped liver.  Anyway, if you want to touch my belly, and I know you, you don’t even need to ask – touch away!  If I don’t know you, please ask first.  =) 

Speaking of bellies, I haven’t gotten any stretch marks yet, and I have to say I’m a little surprised.  Not that I still won’t get some, I just kind of thought I would have one or two by now.  And no, I’m not disappointed.  LOL!

We got A LOT done this weekend – and by “we”, I mean Jeff.  Jeff painted the office/spare bedroom all day on Saturday, while I went out for coffee with the girls in my cooking club in the morning, and went to a girls night/holiday party last night.  I even made the crab and asiago cheese-stuffed mushroom appetizer for the holiday party all by myself because Jeff was busy painting – and for those of you who know us, that is a BIG DEAL (I don’t cook – and they actually turned out really well)!  Today, Jeff touched up the ceiling, while I touched up the baseboards in both the spare bedroom and nursery.  Then, we moved some of the stuff back into the rooms, and they are really starting to take shape.  Most of our furniture and downstairs belongings are still in the garage from getting the carpet installed on Thursday, since I can’t help move the heavy things (Jeff’s brother is coming over to help tomorrow night, thank God).  I cannot wait to get everything set up!  I’m still totally in love with our new carpet, mostly because I really see us using our downstairs more now.  We really never hung out down there before, and our upstairs is so tiny, so this will really be nice!

I do have some sad news though.  Freddie, our Wheaten terrier mix, was put down today.  Most of you have been following along with what he was doing to me (from the message boards I post on), so you know how hard it was for us to come to this decision.  But the guy at the shelter today told us that he thought we were making the right decision, considering the circumstances.  My dad told me that we may well have saved someone’s life by euthanizing Freddie, because you just don’t ever know what an aggressive dog will do in any given situation. 

No shelter would have ever taken him because of his bite history, and we spent over a month trying to look for a new home and/or foster home for him, to no avail.  The months of training, money we spent, and love we gave Freddie just didn’t sink in – I think he was troubled long before we adopted him in February.  I just hope that he’s in a better place now, running around with his furry buddies up in heaven.  Our house definitely won’t be the same without Freddie, but at least I don’t have to be on my toes every day, wondering if and when he will attack me again…

Kerry

6 Responses to “22 weeks today!!!”

  1. ischwab said

    I must be feeling a little sappy this morning because I just teared up thinking about what color Bo and Go’s eyes are going to be. How freaking amazing!

  2. Megan S said

    I’m sorry to hear about Freddie’s passing. I hope you are doing okay.

  3. alexis said

    Go Jeff Go! lol. Awesome news on the absence of stretch marks! We’ll both keep our fingers crossed we’re lucky ones that skip that milestone.

    Sorry about Freddie…you tried your best and I think your dad is right too.

  4. Stacy said

    So sorry about Freddie – I know what you are going through. Your Dad is right. You guys made the right decision but it is still so hard.

    I can’t wait to see photos as your nursery progresses!

  5. Beth M said

    I am so sorry about Freddie, but I really think you made the right decision.
    I need to see you so I can see this miraculous belly in person!!!

  6. Auntie Barb said

    So sorry about Freddie. Having just gone through that I know what a hard decision it was, but from what I have read, it was probably the right one.
    I can’t believe no strech marks yet. I’m jealous.

Leave a Reply

