20 weeks today!!!

December 7, 2008

Holy crap, this is a milestone day – we’re 20 weeks!!!  When I looked at my ticker on babycenter.com and it told me I only had 140 days left, I decided not to be lazy today, and get my ass to Home Depot to pick out a paint color for the BoGo’s room!  I feel like we’re running out of time!

wk20_lg

The babies are the size of cantaloupes today – no wonder I can feel them pretty much all the time now – I have two melons in my belly!  At our appointment on Friday, we were told that Baby Boy A weighed 12 ounces, and Baby Boy B weighed 11 ounces, so they are nearing a full pound each.  At 20 weeks, they also start measuring the boys from head to toe, instead of from crown to rump, and as you can see, they are around 6.5 inches long each!  This is what our little ones looks like in the womb…

twins20wks

When we did the ultrasound on Friday, Baby Boy A was laying across the bottom of my belly, near my cervix, like he always does (he’s almost always the first one I feel when I start feeling the babies every day).  Baby Boy B was laying vertically in the center of my belly (ouch), and his little head was down by Baby A’s legs (can you imagine getting kicked in the head all day long – he’s going to have some issues).  Baby B will likely just move around to where ever he pleases (and has room), and  Baby A will always be around the bottom of my belly, as he really has nowhere else to go.

We went to Babies R Us and started our registry yesterday – can you say “overwhelming”?!?!?  Seriously.  We were only in there a little over an hour and a half, and I was completely wiped out by the time we left.  We did pick out some super cute stuff though, and I have to say I’m even more excited to start on the BoGo’s room than I was before!  On Wednesday, we are going back to buy our nursery furniture, glider (and ottoman), mattresses, and possibly car seats, too.  BRU is having some big thing for “members only”, and my sister-in-law gave us a 20% off coupon that can only be used on that day (on our most expensive item), so we are taking advantage of it!  I also have a 15% off coupon, and we are opening up a BRU credit card to get an additional 10% off the whole purchase.  Oh, and did I mention that we get 10% off any two items as long as they are exactly the same, and over $50?  This is the multiples discount, for mothers-to-be of twins, triplets, or more!  So, it will be a big purchase, but the savings will be worth it (not to mention the grandparents-to-be will be chipping in for a large chunk of what we buy, which is really, really nice)!

We scanned in some pictures last night at Marty and LeAnn’s house, so I will try to figure out how to get those on here, and hopefully have them up by the end of the day.  For now, we’re off to the Home Depot for some new paint!

Kerry

3 Responses to “20 weeks today!!!”

  1. alexis said

    Seriously..our babes are positioned the exact same way! lol. Glad to hear the BRU was a success. I want to know what you’re doing for the nursery…details!

  2. Kristy said

    OMG – I can NOT wait to see what you picked out for the boys!
    They are getting so big!

  3. the mommy said

    Trust me. You will spend a lot of money in Babies R Us. I think this store will always have good business.

    I wrote a Baby checklist for my post (http://www.best4future.com/blog/baby-checklist). Maybe it will help you with the preparion for the baby.

    Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

