19 weeks today!!!

November 30, 2008

We’re now past the halfway point!  YAY!!!!  And because I am super tired from a long day of trip recovery, I am copying the 19 week commentary from babycenter.com:

Your baby’s sensory development is exploding!  His/Her brain is designating specialized areas for smell, taste, hearing, vision, and touch.  Some research suggests that she may be able to hear your voice now, so don’t be shy about reading aloud, talking to her, or singing a happy tune if the mood strikes you.

Your baby weighs about 8 1/2 ounces and measures 6 inches, head to bottom, and is about the size of a large heirloom tomato (or mango!).  His/Her arms and legs are in the right proportions to each other and the rest of his/her body now.  His/Her kidneys continue to make urine and the hair on his/her scalp is sprouting.  A waxy protective coating called the vernix caseosa is forming on her skin to prevent it from pickling in the amniotic fluid.

wk19_lg1

I could go on and on about how I can’t believe that we are to the 19 week mark, or how lucky we are to be here, blah, blah, blah, but I start feeling like a broken record when I talk like that, so I’ll spare you.  I thought since it was Thanksgiving week, I would “borrow” the idea from several blogging buddies, and make a list of everything I’m thankful for this year.  When you struggle with infertility for as long as we did, it was sometimes hard to come up with anything more than friends and family when thinking of things we were thankful for in years past, but this year is different.  We are so incredibly blessed.

So, in no particular order, I am thankful for…

…BoGo, for making me believe in miracles again.

…Jeff, for being my rock, my best friend, and my number one supporter.

…Rex, for making me smile and laugh every day.

…my loving family, for always being there for us when we need them.

…my kick-ass friends, both online and IRL.  And who could forget the treefort?  Much love!

..the wonderful staff of RE’s, embryologists, nurses, phlebotomists, office employees, and therapists at Conceptions for making BoGo a reality.

…the house we (and by “we”, I mean mostly Jeff) have worked hard on to make a home.

…the fact that we are both employed right now.

…Jeff and I’s ability to make ends meet when times are tough.

…our health insurance.

…the girls who referred me to my new obgyn – thank you!!!!

…my “It” maternity jeans that make my ass look fantastic.  LOL!

I promise I’ll write more tomorrow – I am just exhausted from our trip, lack of sleep, and getting things done around the house today.  And I still have to have Jeff take the 19 week belly shot, so that will be up in a few minutes.  Tomorrow, I will add some pics from Thanksgiving, and tell you all about our super fun weekend in Omaha/Lincoln.

Kerry

 

 

 

2 Responses to “19 weeks today!!!”

  1. Erica said

    Woohoo!!! Congratulations you two (four)!

  2. alexis said

    Love the jeans! Looking forward to the pics.

Leave a Reply

