I’m not the girl I used to be

November 22, 2008

So, most of y’all know that I am a super duper, anal-retentive, obsessive-compulsive cleaning machine.  I mean, I used to bleach the refrigerator twice a month for God’s sake (yes, the entire fridge – I would take all the food and shelving out and go nuts)!  There would be days where I would literally spend the entire day cleaning (we’re talking 10 or more hours doing nothing but cleaning) – Jeff would always call me “Meth Maids”, LOL!  Anyway, I just don’t have the energy for it anymore.  Seriously. 

This morning when I woke up, I had it in my head that I was going to clean the entire house, top to bottom, and then put up our Christmas decorations (I know, I know, it’s early – but we’ll be out of state next weekend).  I started at about 7:30, and by noon I was completely wiped out.  Like I had just run a marathon, against the wind, backwards, and barefoot – wiped out.  Ridiculous.  And I only got done with the upstairs…the downstairs hasn’t been touched.  My back hurts, my neck hurts, my hands hurt – hell, even my feet hurt!  Again…ridiculous! 

I guess I’m just going to have to start listening to my body more – and when I need a break (like right now), I’ll take one.  I did take a nice, long, hot shower and use my super moisturizing body wash and lotion, so I feel a ton better.  The Christmas decorations may just have to wait until tomorrow though…

Kerry

3 Responses to “I’m not the girl I used to be”

  1. militarywifealways said

    Take it easy there super duper lady. If the lights have to wait until you return it will be okay:0)

  2. alexis said

    Christmas can wait until you return. 😉 I swear…you and I are sisters in a past life. I’m OCD too and have slowed down quite a bit as well. (I never went so far to bleach the fridge though!)

  3. Noell said

    Wow! You are one crazy cleaning machine even if you *only* cleaned for 4.5 hours today! Take it easy on yourself, you’re growing twins afterall! 😉

Leave a Reply

