16 weeks today!!!

November 9, 2008

First of all, I have to apologize – I am not putting our last u/s pics on the blog because they are HORRIBLE.  They really don’t look like babies, they look more like aliens, and for some reason, the scanner made them look worse.  Call me vain, or whatever, but I don’t want my friends and family seeing my babies not look their very best.  LOL!  We are bringing a DVD to our next appointment (the BIG ultrasound) to record the whole thing so we can add the video to the blog.  Will that be okay with everyone (Deanne)?

My mom has been here the last two days, and just as I thought she would do, when she walked in the front door, the first thing she looked at was my belly.  This time she actually had something to see, LOL!  She is so cute and excited about all of this, and spending all day yesterday with her was so fun – she helped me pick out some new maternity clothes that I desperately needed, and we talked babies pretty much all day long.  Yesterday morning, I went to my friend, Catherine’s, baby shower.  She’s another IVF success story, and (for those of you who already know this, I apologize) the reason we started seeing Dr. Swanson, and I believe the reason our first IVF worked.  Her shower was gorgeous, the company was great, and the cake was even better (sorry girls, I LOVE cake!)!  Baby showers in the last few years have just not much to me, as I was always too busy being bitter and jealous to actually enjoy them, and realize just what they are really about.  Yesterday’s shower was the exception – I couldn’t be more thrilled for Catherine and Doug, and I just cannot wait to meet their little girl!

I cannot believe I’m 16 weeks today (do I say this every week?)!  Things are getting so much better!  Aside from last night (I don’t know what was wrong with me), I am feeling soooo much better, my acne is finally clearing up, and my belly is really looking like a real pregnant belly, instead of a spare tire.  Some may say I’m actually “glowing”, however cheesy that may sound.

avocado1

The babies are the size of avocados (mmmmm, guacamole), and in the next two-three weeks they will double their weight and add a few inches to their length.  This week, their hearts have starting pumping about 25 quarts of blood each, and this will only increase as they get bigger and stronger – that’s a lot of work for our little ones!  Their ears are picking up noises now, so Jeff and I had better watch our mouths, LOL!  Eyebrows, lashes, and hair are beginning to fill in, and they are holding their little heads up more than in the previous weeks.

Here is what fraternal twins look like in the womb at 16 weeks:

twins_week16_rollover_index

I have still been feeling little flutters several times a day, and I have noticed that I can really feel them if I lay on the bed (or the couch), with my legs dangling off the edge (stretching out my midsection).  It continues to amaze the hell out of me how incredibly cool it is to actually feel our babies moving around, even if it’s just tiny, sudden movements instead of “real” kicking and such.  Jeff cannot WAIT to feel the babies move, but I have warned him that it’s going to be awhile before he gets to feel them (to which he replies, “no fair!”).

We have also started discussing names, as we are both feeling comfortable enough that this pregnancy is going in the right direction, and we WILL have two little ones in our house in a few short months.  This will likely be the hardest thing we’ve had to deal with throughout this whole pregnancy, as we can’t seem to agree on a single name combination – should be fun!  I am confident that we will come up with two perfect little names for two perfect little babies though, and I just cannot wait!!!

Kerry

6 Responses to “16 weeks today!!!”

  1. Angelika said

    How about Kerry Jr and Jeff Jr for boy/girl twins? Yes? See – aren’t you glad that is settled?

    You looked so incredibly pretty yesterday – so great to see you!

    Keep up the good baby growin’!

  2. alexis said

    Truckin’ along! Yeah for 16 weeks! DVD will be awesome! Can’t wait for the babes first home video. 😉

  3. taratru said

    What a brilliant way to feel your babies moving! 🙂 Tara and Jesse are great names. Or Megan and Ryan. Just sayin’…

  4. Porche said

    This is so freaking cool! I can’t believe it’s been 16 weeks (or more really) since your transfer and we were waiting and hoping. So fabulous! Congrats to you both.

  5. Deanne said

    :::pouting::: I’m sorry the pics didn’t turn out and will be anxiously waiting for your next opportunity to show off the babes. Names…my only advice is to go out on the porch/deck and yell them to see how they sound out LOUD. he he he. Also, will you tell Angelika that Pac Sun has “Nollie” perfume, I’m sure it’s named for her son! It’d be fun to have some just for kicks since that’s his nick name. 🙂

  6. Kristy said

    Yeah for avocados! Those little ones are growing so fast – can’t wait to meet them in a few months!

    Love you two!
    sis

Leave a Reply

