Oh, and one more thing…

November 1, 2008

…I was at a friend’s baby shower today, and I cried.  Twice.  Maybe three times actually, I lost count.  Anyway, this is a good friend who I met online, and she and her husband had trouble trying to conceive – I believe they tried for 20 months, and finally got lucky right before they were about to get help from a fertility clinic.  She had just begun unwrapping her gifts, and I just started daydreaming about all of the talks we had while we were both struggling to get pregnant – all of the tears, being envious of those around us getting pregnant at the drop of a hat, the “why me’s” – and I just lost it.  Here she was, smile on her face, little baby girl in her belly, unwrapping gifts at her baby shower.  I was just overwhelmed with emotion that this is finally happening for her…and me.  This is also the first baby shower I have attended since getting pregnant, so I knew I would be feeling differently.  Ironically, I have another baby shower next weekend for another fellow infertile, and I am really hoping I’ll be able to hold myself together during that one. 

I went to 13 – yes 13 – baby showers during our almost 3 year struggle with infertility, and I cried on the drive home after almost every single one of those.  Today I cried on the drive home, too…this time out of pure happiness for my good friends and I. 

Kerry

13 Responses to “Oh, and one more thing…”

  1. ischwab said

    sap 😉

  2. Noell said

    I am so happy that you were crying tears of joy!! I can’t imagine what it’ll be like when you have *your* baby shower! How exciting! 🙂

  3. alexis said

    That will soon be you unwrapping those gifts and in the final stretch!

  4. Lanie & Shane said

    Awwww! So sweet. It’s about time to have a shower that you could actually celebrate!

  5. Marci said

    Yay for tears of joy!

  6. Kristy said

    Just wait for your shower, cutie! Waaaaahhhh! (That’s supposed to be you crying!) Love ya! Sis

  7. Sara said

    That is so sweet!!! Just think, it will be your shower soon!!! How exciting for you and Jeff!

  8. Peggy said

    Hi Dear One, Am just waitingfor Kristy to get in and thought I’d say Hi! It took me this long to \\\\figure this thing out

  9. Molly said

    OMG Kerry, I’m bawling right now. Seriously.bawling.

    I love you.

  10. Beth M said

    Aww, I know one of those showers was mine and I just wanted to thank you so much for being there for me when I was pregnant even though it took an incredible amount of strength and courage. I couldn’t be more happy that you finally get to have that joy and I can’t wait to be there for you at yours!!! I love you buddy!!!

  11. Cathy said

    Awww, what’s my excuse for crying other than being a big ole softie? I’m so happy for all of you guys! 🙂

  12. Robin said

    That is so wonderful. I will bring a tissue for you on Sat just in case!

  13. ehiwv said

    and pretty soon we’ll be having your baby shower and you can cry your freaking eyes out as much as you want.

Leave a Reply

