Ahhhh, nuts!

November 1, 2008

My old boss’s daughter used to say that all the time, and I thought it was fitting in this situation.  I have been freaking out lately about the whole “taking time off work after babies” thing, and here is why:

I just found out there have been some changes to our company’s maternity leave policy, and although there it’s less time than it used to be, they will give me 6 weeks of (80%) paid time off for a vaginal delivery, and 8 weeks of (80%) paid time off for a c-section.  Hell, I’ll take any paid time off that I can get!  The problem is that (ideally) I would like to take at least 12 weeks off work after BoGo get here, and I won’t be able to do that unless they come on or before a certain date.  Here’s why.  When I started with the company, I was hired on through a temp agency, and wasn’t hired as an employee/owner until May 21st of this year.  In order to qualify for the 12 weeks of time off you get through FMLA, you have to be with the company for at least a year.  So…I have to take the 6 or 8 weeks off first, and then the FMLA would kick in.  Well, actually I could technically use up all of my PTO before using the 6 or 8 weeks, but I guarantee you with all of the doctor’s appointments we will have, I won’t have much, if any, of that left.  Are you still following me?

My due date is April 26th, but with twins, you are considered “full-term” at 37 weeks, so that would put me at April 5th.  In order to qualify for FMLA leave, I would have to have the babies by March 26th if I was having a c-section or April 9th if I was having them vaginally.  Do you see why I’m freaking out here?  I mean, I know I could always apply for a short-term leave of absence, but I’m a little afraid of having to do that because the department I work in is incredibly short-staffed, and we are on a hiring freeze until God knows when. 

Another aspect of being freaked out (geez, I sound like a broken record, sorry) is that after spending our entire life savings trying to have a baby, we have no savings.  No nest egg.  No emergency fund.  And I’m fairly certain that while staying home with my babies for a few months, our bills aren’t just going to magically disappear – we will still have a mortgage, utility bills, car loans, etc – not to mention the added expenses of having two newborns!  Talk about a load on our shoulders.  I would love to think that we will be able to save enough money between now and then to be okay with me not working for a few months, but I just don’t know.  Right now, we are struggling just to make it to the next paycheck, but that’s only because we’ve always had that emergency fund to fall back on “just in case”.  The only thing (or things) that make this not depressing is the fact that BoGo will be here next spring, and Jeff and I will finally be parents. 

Kerry

4 Responses to “Ahhhh, nuts!”

  1. Molly S. said

    Why is it that there is always something to worry about?! I’ve thought about how my maternity leave will play out a million times. The fact is that it is out of your control and no matter what – IT WILL WORK OUT. Of course, that is easier to believe when you didn’t have to spend you entire savings to get pregnant. Just wanted you to know that I understand completely.

  2. Noell said

    Sounds like you’re in a dilemma Kerry. 😦 I had a relatively similar experience before DD was born, although I think I was in denial and man did it hit me like a ton of bricks a couple months after she arrived! It’s good that you’re thinking about things now! I’ll be thinking about you and hope your decision isn’t too difficult!

  3. alexis said

    The one thing you should tell yourself is you have no control over when these nuggets decide to arrive. Figuring out work and time off sucks…one of the privies of being a soon to be working mom. I know it will all work out. 😉

  4. Stacy said

    Isn’t it a shame that finances cause such a big stress? The only thing I can say is things always seem to work out – although i am such a planner that I HATE it when I am told that because I want to know exactly how they will work. Hang in there – what seems like an overwhelming issue one day can become manageable the next.

Leave a Reply

