Infertility Awareness Week

October 21, 2008

This week, October 19-25, is Infertility Awareness Week.  If you had told me three years ago that I was going to care about Infertility Awareness Week, I would have just shrugged my shoulders, but a lot has happened in the last three years.  As a couple, Jeff and I are infertile.  Chances are, we wouldn’t have been able to conceive had it not been for the miracle of science, and we thank our lucky stars for that every single day.

A lot of people think that infertility is a label that you slap on someone when they are getting impatient with the “natural” process of conceiving children.  The people that think that way tend to think those people just need to “relax”, and let things happen as they may.  They are clueless to the fact that infertility is a disease, and you can’t just “relax” to cure it.  Infertility happens in some way, shape, or form in one out of every six American couples.  One in six.  Chances are if you don’t know anyone struggling with infertility that’s because they are private with their struggle, or perhaps they are ashamed to “admit defeat” on something as natural as conceiving a child.

For Jeff and I, our struggle was a very public one.  After dealing with it silently for several months, we discovered that we needed the support of our friends and family to help us deal with what soon became a very difficult situation.  The last three years have been hella-hard, to the point that sometimes I wondered if this thing called “infertility” would take my marriage.  There were times in the beginning of our struggle when it bothered me more, and I was pissed at Jeff for not being more supportive, sad, empathetic, etc.  There were times about a year and a half in when it bothered Jeff more, and he would wonder why I was beginning to just not give a shit about it.  I became despondent and withdrawn, and I almost didn’t care anymore.  We didn’t need kids, we had each other, right?

When I finally pulled my head out of my ass about all of this, and we really began focusing on our infertility and our strong desire to have at least one child, we were a team.  Team Mastera.  Nobody could stop us – we were going to win this battle, no matter what the cost.  And oh the cost – it still sickens me to this day thinking about all of the money we’ve spent on our dream of having children.  The fact that we have absolutely nothing in savings because of the two tiny little beings in my belly both frightens me and excites me at the same time.  We got lucky.  We know that.  But man, thinking of raising two children in this day and age with no “nest egg” is scary business.  Anyway, back to Team Mastera – when we turned our attitudes around that this was going to work, it just happened.  We got to that point where we KNEW we would be parents – some way, some how.

Enough of my incessant rambling…I just wanted to recognize Infertility Awareness Week in some way.  Being infertile for three years changed me.  I think it made me a much more compassionate, caring person (correct me if I’m wrong), and I know it made me a better wife.  It strengthened Jeff and I’s marriage like nothing else probably would have, and I can honestly say that if we can get through the ups and downs of infertility, we can get through anything. 

Kerry

5 Responses to “Infertility Awareness Week”

  1. shawnandlarissa said

    I don’t know how to respond to this post except that I can relate. Very well written.

  2. Peggy said

    Happy Infertility Awareness Week! And a big cheer for the scientists, doctors, nurses and techs who work in the field.

  3. alexis said

    WELL SAID!

    Hey, next time you post on my blog give me your email. I’d love to swap opinions about registry, etc.

  4. ehiwv said

    thanks for being such a good “spokesperson”. i am so glad that you speak so openly about your struggle with infertility because you have educated me so much about it. i know you have opened the eyes of many people who didn’t know or even think about fertility issues. it impacts so many lives, and people need to talk about it to raise awareness. so, happy infertility awareness week! : P

Leave a Reply

