12 Week Ultrasound

October 16, 2008

We went in this morning for our 12 week ultrasound/NT scan.  Everything looked fine with the scan, and the babies are doing well.  They move around a lot now, and at times they were bouncing all over the place.  It is still a little hard to make out features of each baby but hopefully these u/s pics show the progess well enough.

Baby A waving hello.

Baby A waving hello.

Baby B waving hello.

Baby B waving hello.

Jeff

Edited to add (by Kerry) – the sonographer told us that based on the measurements alone, the chance of something being wrong with either baby is very, very low.  She was also able to find the nasal bone on each baby, which apparently is a good indicator that they won’t be born with Downs.  Bo’s (Baby A) heart rate was 150 and Go’s heart rate was 158, and they were both measuring right on track at 12 weeks 4 days.  It was so great having an hour-long ultrasound, and the sonographer took 8 pictures of the babies just for us (and to hand out to the grandparents, etc), which was really nice.  We won’t know for sure if our risk for Downs or other chromosomal abnormalities is any higher until my bloodwork comes back, but for now, our minds are at ease.  And YAY for having more ultrasound pics for the fridge!!!

Oh, and sorry we don’t have a video…my camera’s videotape feature just isn’t good enough to capture the monitor on film with the dim lighting of the ultrasound room.  Maybe when the money fairy drops off enough money to buy a nice video camera we can hook you guys up…

5 Responses to “12 Week Ultrasound”

  1. alexis said

    OMG. How cool are those pics! I haven’t seen our beans since week 8 and I think I have to wait until week 20 for our next u/s (we aren’t doing any screening). Great results so far…keep me posted on the bloodwork.

  2. Hi Jeff and Kerry! I just got directed to your site through Ryan Lee, and I loved every minute of it I just read! This is the best blog EVER! While my husband and I did struggle with infertility, it wasn’t to the same degree as you have been through. But in July, we had Baby Boy Cameron, and he is the joy of our lives! I can totally relate to all of the shitty things people say, why you go home and secretly cry and the constant scared feeling during those first twelve weeks. I know we haven’t seen each other forever, but I am so glad for you! Visit my blog http://www.kearneyville.blogspot.com and see pictures of Baby Cameron. Much Love, Jenn Strine Kearney

  3. Kristy said

    What cuties!! I have tears in my eyes!

    Love, sis

  4. Ron S said

    I think Baby A looks a little more like you Kerry and Baby B looks more like Jeff.

  5. Noell said

    Look at those cuties! I can’t believe you’re already 13 weeks!

Leave a Reply

