Our first OB appointment

October 8, 2008

Well, not technically our “first” since we went to our new OB when I was spotting a couple of weeks ago…but we had our big “meet the OB practice” appointment yesterday, and it went really well.  I was there for over three hours, and we went over A LOT of stuff.  I’ll leave out the boring stuff, and only tell you the fun, exciting stuff.

– We decided to deliver at Sky Ridge Medical Center, which if you aren’t in the Denver-metro area, you wouldn’t know, but this hospital is super duper nice (and new)!  We chose them in part because they have a Level III pediatric/newborn unit, because if (God-forbid) the babies would need that, they wouldn’t have to be transported from another hospital.  Anyway, I am pretty stoked about going in for a tour, and starting our childbirth classes soon!

– The NP (nurse practitioner) that we met with has 20 years of experience working with a perinatologist (high-risk pregnancy OB), so she answered all of my crazy questions about being pregnant with twins, and said that if we felt more comfortable working alongside a peri and them, they would refer me to the Dr. that they work with the most.  I felt really great knowing that (1) I wasn’t stupid for asking way too many questions and (2) they would work as a team with a high-risk OB if that’s what we decided.

– I found out that I have AMAZING insurance.  I mean AMAZING.  Pretty much everything is covered at 100%, with no co-pays.  I’m talking all labs, ultrasounds, office visits, the birth of our children, our aftercare, and any NICU stays (if the babies end up in the NICU for any reason).  100 freakin percent.  I about DIED.  The insurance coordinator told me that our insurance (maternity) coverage is some of the best she’s seen in over a year!  I’m just hoping this crap economy and the fact that the company I work for is trying to save money doesn’t mean they are going to change our benefits anytime soon!  Keep your fingers crossed – we’ve already paid enough for these babies!

That’s about it for now.  I do have to check with my insurance to see if the NT scan (Nuchal Translucency scan, which checks for the babies’ risks of having Down syndrome, as well as other chromosomal abnormalities and major congenital heart problems) is covered.  It is considered an “elective” test, so it may not be covered, so I should find out tomorrow if it is (or not).  If it is, we will get another ultrasound in the next week, or two – and if it isn’t, our next ultrasound won’t be until November 6th.  It seems so far away – I want new pictures of our babies!!!!  =)

Kerry

5 Responses to “Our first OB appointment”

  1. shawnandlarissa said

    Well the insurance ought to pay for all things maternity related since it paid for very little leading up to this. That’s great that it went well!

  2. Cathy said

    So glad you guys are getting such great coverage and care after all you’ve gone through to get here!

  3. tifflee said

    Kerry and Jeff congratulations on your twins. I just found your blog while doing a search for IVF. I just want to say that I really enjoyed reading about your experiences and it helped to put me at ease as I am in the midst of my first IVF cycle. Good luck to you and your twins!! 🙂

    Tiffany

  4. Sock said

    Kerry, I’ve been lurking for a while and following your good news. I am so excited for you and Jeff. You are in my prayers for an uneventful, normal pregnancy and the uncomplicated delivery of full-term, healthy babies. God bless!!

  5. alexis said

    Glad the meet and greet went well. So important feel a good team on your side. 🙂

Leave a Reply

