10 weeks today!

September 28, 2008

We are 10 weeks pregnant today!!!  Little BoGo are the size of prunes (YUCK), and in the next three weeks, they will almost double in length if you can believe that (by the 13th week they should be around 3 inches long each)!  Their kidneys, intestines, brain, and liver are all working overtime and starting to function normally, as they will continue to do throughout their time in my womb.  They are getting fingernails, and growing peach-fuzz hair all over their body.  Their little limbs are now able to bend, which I cannot WAIT to see at our next ultrasound, and their foreheads are temporarily bulging with the super-fast brain development going on right now (which would explain their HUGE heads at the last ultrasound).  Too crazy!

It’s so hard to believe that I’m 1/4 of the way through this pregnancy already (well, actually I’m further along than that since a typical twin pregnancy is considered full-term at 37 weeks)…it still all seems like a dream!  The funniest thing that is happening so far (and this just started about a week ago), is that when I walk into a room, the first thing that EVERYONE does is look at my ever-expanding belly – it’s HILARIOUS!  I met with my cooking club group on Friday night, and everyone just kept commenting on how cute my little bump was, and how great I looked, etc – it was nice to have all of that attention since I’ve been dreaming of this day for so long.  Thanks to Cyndi for the awesome mandarin-lime scented candle and lotion (my favorite from Bath & Body Works), and thanks to Ann (fellow twin mommy) for the bag o’ maternity clothes and two books on twins (I finally got the Dr. Luke book – YAY).  And thanks to all of the girls for a wonderful night of laughing and gossiping – I still cannot believe I stayed out so late!

Yesterday my buddy, Tara, came down from Loveland and we went out to a nice lunch, and then she took me out for a pedicure (where I chose a lovely shade of bright-ass purple for my toes).  It was heavenly!  So heavenly, in fact, that I made an appointment two weeks from yesterday to go back for another one.  I really liked this place – my feet have never been so soft!  I do feel bad that I kind of cut the afternoon short, but I wasn’t really feeling that great after eating a salad and a half-pound burger (and homemade chips) for lunch.  Oops.  Hey, at least I ate, right?

We don’t really have anything planned for this beautiful Sunday, but I’m hoping to get in some sort of exercise starting today.  I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve been completely sedentary since we started the IVF process – mostly because I was told to knock off the exercise during the cycle, then I was on bed rest, and lately I’ve been too damn tired to exercise.  All of that stops now.  I am going to try really, really hard to try to get at least 30 minutes of cardio in every day, and I’m going to start lifting (not very heavy) weights for my arm, back, and leg strength.  I’m scared to death to lose the small amount of muscle definition I still have in my arms and legs, and it certainly can’t hurt to have a little muscle tone, can it?  Plus, with the around 40 pounds I’m supposed to be gaining (YIKES), I think that keeping active will probably help me lose the weight a little faster once the babies come (all of you moms out there can start laughing at my naivety right about now).

Kerry

6 Responses to “10 weeks today!”

  1. Kim said

    Congrats on 10 weeks – just wanted to say don’t sweat the body issues – gaining weight and such – time will fly – you will grow ! And your arms will get really buff-looking after you have them from carrying them around ! Most twin moms I know have great looking arms 🙂
    Enjoy your pregnancy and take lots of pictures along the way!
    Kim

  2. Noell said

    Wow! I can’t believe you’re so far along already! Don’t worry too much about gaining and other body issues…I think the best reason to exercise during pregnancy is for your well-being. I didn’t do a damn thing when I was pg with DD and I was the biggest beotch! I exercised just about everyday with DS and I was only a beotch about a quarter of the time! LOL!

  3. alexis said

    Congrats on 10 wks!

  4. Molly said

    Don’t kick yourself for the exercise thing – do what you feel like doing. Hell, I’ve only got one in there and it’s hard to motivate! Especially when you feel like dog doo doo.

  5. Felicia said

    Yay for 10 weeks!

    Also, I thought twins were full term at 36 weeks and singletons were at 37 weeks. ????

  6. Amanda Mastera said

    Very very exciting Kerry. It’s pretty cool that there is going to be another set of twins in the family :).

    I hope you’re doing well!

    Much love from Connecticut!
    Xoxo,
    Amanda

Leave a Reply

