Whew! What a relief!

September 26, 2008

We had an interesting afternoon yesterday…

I started spotting late morning, and because this has never happened before, I kind of freaked out a little bit, so I called our new OB.  The nurse didn’t think it was anything to worry about, since it was only a little bit of light pink spotting (not the scary bright red stuff), so she told me that if I didn’t hear back from her not to worry (yeah right).  Well, I heard back from her about 10 minutes later, and she had talked to the Dr., who thought I should come in for an emergency ultrasound.

When we got into the room, the ultrasound tech was asking me all sorts of questions, and the whole time I was just thinking about the fate of our little ones – totally freaking out.  Finally, she had me lay down for the exam.  She turned the monitor away from Jeff and I, and told me that she was going to take a peek before showing us anything (I’m assuming she did this to make sure that everything was okay).  What seemed like 10 minutes later (it was really only a little more than a minute), she turned the monitor to us and told us that both babies were perfectly fine.

For your viewing pleasure…Baby A (Bo) on top, and both babies (Bo and Go) in the bottom picture.  Go wasn’t being very cooperative and didn’t feel like posing for a picture by him/herself.  Boo.

Can you believe that you can see their little arms and legs now?!?!?  It was so crazy how much they’ve grown in the week and two days since our last ultrasound!  Both babies were totally moving around, too, they were twisting and turning, and flipping upside down – it was so cute.  The ultrasound tech measured them both, and they both measured exactly 9 weeks, 4 days, which is perfect.  They were also copying each other, each having a heartrate of 182.  Awwwww!

We found out that the cause for the spotting was likely Baby A’s placenta was dragging along the cervix opening, instead of being where it was supposed to be.  The u/s tech told us that it appears that Bo’s placenta is attaching to the correct place, so there shouldn’t be any cause for concern, but she also told me that I will likely bleed a little more during the next day, or two.

So, everything is okay.  Whew!  I have to admit, while I was acting calm, cool, and collected – I was pretty scared at the possibility of losing one or both of our babies.  I think Jeff was a little scared, too, but we left the clinic with new pics of BoGo and big smiles on our faces, so all is well.

Kerry

11 Responses to “Whew! What a relief!”

  1. Megan said

    So glad everything is okay! Another peek at the healthy babies is always a plus! ; )

  2. Beth M said

    Phew! Glad everything turned out ok and sorry you had to go through that scariness. They are growing so well!! Hugs!

  3. alexis said

    What an ordeal! So sorry you were under that stress, but so relieved everything is okay. Love the new Bo Go pics!! I can’t wait to see ours again on Tuesday.

  4. Tarah said

    I am so glad that everything is ok. I’m sorry you had such a scare, but glad that you got new pictures of BOGO and were able to leave with smiles on your faces.

    Thinking of you guys…

  5. ehiwv said

    awww, those are the cutest little flipper-footed babies ever! i am so glad everything looks good in there.

  6. Cathy said

    So glad to see both of them in there doing well!

  7. Porche said

    What a relief! So good to hear that Bo and Go are doing well.

  8. Erica said

    I’m so glad that all is well!!! What an ordeal! I hope you’re feeling better, btw!

  9. Lanie said

    Oh, buddy! I’m sorry that you had to go through the spotting. It really sucks! (Speaking from experience here.) But I’m so happy that you got to see another shot of the kiddos. They look amazing!!! I’m totally tearing up at seeing your BoGo. (Thank you, pg hormones.)

  10. militarywifealways said

    Glad to hear that Bo and Go are doing awesome, their little pictures are too cute

  11. shawnandlarissa said

    Pretty amazing!

Leave a Reply

