All-day sickness has begun!

September 9, 2008

The reason for the exclamation point in the title is because I just have to find a positive in all of this because today was BRUTAL.  I’m pregnant.  With twins.  I’m healthy, I have an amazing husband who would go to the ends of the earth to make sure I was okay, and I’m pregnant with his children.  I have A LOT to be thankful for.  There was a day where Jeff and I thought this day would never come, and it’s here.  I still have a hard time telling people “we’re pregnant” because it was such a far-fetched notion for so damn long.

That said, this all-day sickness is really, really, really hard.  I was on the verge of throwing up pretty much all day, from the moment I woke up up until about 8 o’clock tonight.  It makes for getting through the workday very…umm…challenging.  I was so unproductive at work today that now I’m worried about my job security (yes, I’m neurotic, and worried about this after only one day of sickness).  Morning sickness (or all-day sickness) blows for everyone, but I think when you pay $20K to get knocked up that you should be exempt from being sick throughout your pregnancy, dammit!  Right now I despise women who are vocal about “not ever being sick” throughout their pregnancies, so to all you women, QUIT BRAGGING ABOUT IT (you know who you are…)!!! 

I’m supposed to be eating at least two times the normal amount of protein the a woman needs in one day, and anywhere from 600-800 extra calories per day for the two babies.  I did okay with the protein today, thanks to these delicious smoothies I’ve been making with protein powder, yogurt, frozen fruit, and milk – but the calories are another story.  There is no way in hell that I ate 2200-2400 calories today, even with the cheeseburger that I ate for dinner tonight.  That makes me feel guilty that I’m not doing everything I can for these two little miracles growing inside me.

Can I just brag about Jeff for a moment?  I know you all (especially you, Mom and Dad) have always known he is the greatest thing to ever happen to me, and I have to tell you that he’s only getting better.  He has been so attentive and loving since we found out we were pregnant, and even moreso since we found out it’s twins.  He’s so worried about me all the time, and just wants to make sure I take it easy and don’t overdo anything, so he’s been doing EVERYTHING.  Cooking, cleaning, cleaning up after cooking, laundry, running errands, making me my smoothies, bringing me water when I’m thirsty, I could go on…  Today, when I told him that I was having trouble eating, and I was feeling sick all day, he did some research and told me the foods I should be trying to eat that would be okay on my tummy, and good for me and the babies.  Awww!  He’s just so excited, I can’t even stand it!  I always knew that he would be the best daddy in the whole world, and he’s just about the best daddy-to-be I’ve ever heard of.  I’m so freakin’ lucky.

One example of how great he is would be this photo of him and Rexy “testing out” the (used three times) Baby Bjorn we got on Craigslist for $15 (thanks, LeAnn!)…

Kerry

15 Responses to “All-day sickness has begun!”

  1. Kari said

    Being sick was the worst!! I had it every evening/night in the first trimester! It went away for the 2nd trimester only to return in the 3rd!! It was horrible and I feel for you!! Crackers in the morning helps! Good Luck!

  2. Ann said

    I’m so excited for you guys! I’m also really excited to have another MOM (mother of multiples) close by! Let me know if you need anything!

  3. Erica said

    I’m so sorry that you are feeling so sick!!! Try ginger chews from the Ginger People, and as hard as it is, I always felt better with something in my stomach. Nausea is worse on an empty stomach. Hang in there! I am so happy for you guys, ans I am so glad that Jeff is a rock star husband.

  4. Tara said

    I don’t envy you all that eating.

    Wait. Yes, I do. 🙂

  5. Noell said

    Yuck! I feel your pain! You’ll get through it…but in the meantime it really does suck. When you’ve found something that you can stomach (like the smoothies) stick with it until you absolutely can’t stand it anymore!

  6. Felicia said

    I’m so sorry you’re having a rough time. There are tons of possible “remedies” (which might not “cure” it but might make it more manageable) out there, so I hope one of them works for you.

    Also remember that protein and calories are indeed important… but (I heard this from my OB last week) in the first tri, fluids are especially important.

  7. Brenda said

    I am so sorry you’re dealing with all day sickness. It totally blows. Don’t worry too much about the calories right now – just do what you can to eat whatever sounds good that you can keep down. I hope you start feeling better soon! {{hugs}}

  8. Megan said

    I’m sorry, K. Hang in there!

  9. shawnandlarissa said

    Here’s hoping that the all day sickness subsides soon!

  10. Lanie said

    Welcome to my life thse days, buddy. Hang in there, we’ll get through it! Thanks again for the protein shake tip.

  11. Angie said

    That all day sickness sucks!! I never actually threw up, but I felt like crap throughout the first trimester with both of my boys. I’m so sorry sweetie.

    And…ummm…Jeff has always done all the cooking, hasn’t he? 😛

  12. prnceswife said

    Don’t be afraid to ask for zofran or something if it looks like it’s going to stick around. I suffered for a week before I asked for it, and it’s been a real life saver for me. Yup, 17 weeks and I am still taking it regularly. I wish I had asked for it sooner.

  13. Porche said

    How flippin’ cute is that picture of Jeff and Rex? I’m so sorry you’re feeling like complete arse, but they say that’s a good thing right? I hope you can get something to help ’cause I’m missing the additions to the craving part of your blog. 🙂

  14. Keri said

    Yuck.. sorry about the all day sickness… that sucks, K…
    That pic of Jeff and little Rexy is the cutest thing ever!

Leave a Reply

