Wow. Just wow.

September 5, 2008

Overwhelmed?  Check!

Excited?  Check!

Scared?  Check!

Whew…what a whirlwind 24 hours we’ve had.  We go from being shaken up from the car accident last night, to me being terrified to drive this morning.  From me not being able to eat all day because I’m scared shitless that my uterus will be empty come the afternoon, to seeing TWO PERFECT, STRONG HEARTBEATS.

Baby A measured 6 weeks, 4 days, and had a heartrate of 120 bpm.  Baby B measured 6 weeks, 5 days, and had a heartrate of 135 bpm.

When I climbed into the stirrups, I was absolutely frozen with fear that we weren’t going to see anything.  Jeff came to my side, and we grabbed hands.  When the ultrasound tech used her “very special” wand, tears welled up in my eyes.  This was it.  This was the moment where I would find out the fate of our future…

There is your right ovary.  It is still pretty enlarged.  Are you having any pain on your right side at all?

Uh…no.  C’mon now – get to it!

Oh – there we go!  A nice, strong heartbeat – 120 bpm.  Do you see that?  Let’s measure it…wonderful…it’s measuring right on track at 6 weeks, 4 days…” (saying this as she turned up the volume so we could hear our baby’s heartbeat – which was AMAZING)

Cue the tears.

…we’ll call that one Baby A, because here’s Baby B right here…

“Holy shit,” I said out loud.  Squeezing Jeff’s hand almost as hard as I possibly could.  Holy shit.  “There are really two in there,” I ask?

There are really two in there.  Baby B is measuring on track at 6 weeks, 5 days.  (finding heartbeat, and letting us listen to it – again – AMAZING) Heartrate is 135.”

Ho-ly shit.  Did I say that yet?  LOL! 

Today was, by a long shot, the best day of my life so far.  And now I’m off to bed.  WAY too much excitement for one day!

Thanks to everyone for their love and support – Jeff and I both appreciate you all so much!

Kerry

18 Responses to “Wow. Just wow.”

  1. ischwab said

    Congratulations!!! I am so, so happy for you!!

  2. Kiane said

    Congrats again!!! I am so thrilled for you guys!

  3. Katey said

    As I said before – CONGRATS!!!! I am so happy for you two! Those two little babies couldn’t get better parents than you and Jeff!

  4. Ondrea said

    omg! omg! I’m so excited and crying tears of joy for you!!!!!!!!!!!! woo hoo!!!!

  5. Cathy said

    Crap! You made me cry AGAIN!
    I’m so happy for you guys!

  6. Molly said

    Amazing Kerry. I love the story. We’re so happy for you two! Lula can’t wait to be scared of both your little ones!

  7. Jaime said

    Congratulations!!!

  8. Noell said

    Once again, OMG and congratulations on both of your little babies!! You’re pregnant with TWINS!!

  9. Beth M said

    Oh Kerry!!!! I just can’t even begin to tell you how happy I am for you and Jeff. It is just beyond words!!! I can’t wait to be able to talk to you in person!

  10. Katie said

    I am SO SO HAPPY for you two!

  11. Tarah said

    Congrats x’s two!! I’m so happy to hear that everything was perfect and 2 of them…OMG!

  12. lauraandlee said

    You’ve led me to crying tears of joy yet again. I’m SO incredibly happy for you two. I want to go make you two of every baby item I can think of. CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. Ann said

    So, so happy for you! Twins are great!

  14. shawnandlarissa said

    OMG! This is such exciting, wonderful news. That sure is a whirlwind 24 hours. I’m so glad that it ended on such an absolutely perfect note.

  15. alexis said

    Love-It! It’s the craziest feeling isn’t it? I’m so happy for you guys…well worth the wait right? Looking forward to sharing our “twin journey” together. April can’t come soon enough!…I take that back…we have a lot to do before then! 😉

  16. Marci said

    Congrats Kerry! I am so happy for you all!

  17. liz said

    so freaking awesome.

  18. Brenda said

    CONGRATS!!!! I knew it was going to be twins! My friend said her sister was feeling very tired at week 4-5 and she had twins too! We knew it! Can’t wait to see you in person soon chica!!

Leave a Reply

