It could have been sooooo much worse

September 4, 2008

I was in a car accident on the way home from work tonight. 

I’m okay.  My friend from work, Gina (who I carpool with), is okay.  We’re both pretty shaken up, but thanks to Gina’s killer driving skills and quick thinking, we weren’t crushed between an industrial plumbing van and a big ass tanker truck. 

We were driving northbound on I-270, in the left lane, about to merge onto eastbound I-70, and I was on the phone with my friend, Maureen, completely oblivious as to what was about to happen to us.  We were at a really safe distance behind a tanker truck, and there was a black truck directly behind us, with the plumbing van behind the black truck.  The tanker was braking, as traffic ahead of her was also braking, so Gina was braking, too.  The problem was that the truck and the van behind us were NOT braking, and thankfully Gina saw that just in the nick of time.  The black truck was headed straight for us when Gina noticed, and just as she noticed, the truck swerved into the right lane (to avoid hitting us).  The plumbing van must have not seen the traffic braking in front of him, because he was coming at us at (I would guess) at least 50 mph.  Gina quickly cranked the wheel to the left to get us to safety in the ditch, as the plumbing van  grazed the back bumper (quarter panel) of her car, and then he proceeded to slam into the back of the tanker truck.

The impact from the van hitting the tanker was so bad that the van’s airbag deployed, and the entire front left end of the van was smashed into the front door.  The impact the van had on the tanker was so bad that the back bumper (that is made of industrial-strength steel) was dented on the right side, and the two back wheels and axle were bent into the center of the tanker.  The tanker driver told us that if we would have been in between her and the van, the tanker would have likely exploded, and we would be toast.

Scary.

I am a wreck.  I managed to hold it together in front of Gina, but when I got home, and explained to Jeff what happened, I just lost it.  We could have been very seriously injured, or even worse, dead.  I talked to one of the paramedics at the scene, and he recommended that I see our doctor ASAP just to make sure everything is okay, so I called the after-hours nurse at Conceptions and made an appointment to get our first ultrasound a few days early (tomorrow at 3 p.m.). 

So, two bits of good news – one – Gina and I are alive and safe, thank God and – two – we will get to see our little one(s) tomorrow afternoon, so y’all will be updated a lot sooner than you had originally thought.  We’ll keep you posted when we get home from the doctor tomorrow, and if you wouldn’t mind – please keep Jeff, I, and our baby (or babies) in your thoughts and prayers.

Kerry

19 Responses to “It could have been sooooo much worse”

  1. Tara said

    omg. you just scared the shit out of me. I know everything will be okay.

  2. Cathy said

    How scary! I’m so glad she had quick reflexes!

    Once those babies get implanted, your uterus is actually a nice cushy place! I hope everything’s ok and the US confirms that tomorrow! Take care of yourself!

  3. Robin said

    Oh man Kerry! Praise the Lord you are safe. I hope everything goes well at your appt tomorrow.

  4. Brenda said

    I am so glad that you are ok! Good thing for your carpool buddy to have been paying attention so well. I hope everything goes well at your appointment tomorrow.

  5. ehiwv said

    OHMYGOD, kerry! i am so glad you are okay. i will be sending lots of good thoughts.

  6. Katie said

    I am so glad you are ok – that could have been SO much worse!

  7. Angelika said

    SO GLAD you are ok. Whew.

  8. Chrissy said

    Kerry, I am so glad you are okay. I am sending lots and lots of good thoughts your way.

  9. Erica said

    How scary! I am so glad that the both of you are okay. I am sending lots of good thoughts your way.

  10. Sara said

    I’m so glad you are ok! Sending lots of good thoughts your way!

  11. shawnandlarissa said

    Kerry! I’m so glad you’re ok. I’m saying a prayer for your little one(s).

  12. lanielove1 said

    OMG!!! I’m sending you lots and lots of prayers for those babies and for you. Please, please take care of yourself.

  13. Deanne said

    Wow. Thank goodness your friend is such a great driver. That takes some quick thinking and I’m so glad you are both ok. I was in an accident when I was 5mo pg w/ dd1, so I can understand, to some extent, your fears. I’m sure all will be ok and can’t wait to hear about your little one(s).

  14. Ann said

    I’m so sorry that you’re having to go through this. Your guardian angel(s) were really looking out for you and the baby(ies) tonight! Everything will be okay tomorrow. I just know it!

  15. Porche said

    Stoopid Nest is down now- just as I was getting to your post! I’m so glad that you’re okay. Close calls like that are so fucking scary. I can’t imagine how much worse it was for you and your new baby(ies.) Not discounting what others have gone through, but you’ve worked so hard and gone through so much and to have some moron not pay attention…. I know everything will be great tomorrow. 🙂

  16. nora said

    how scary!!! i am so glad you are okay!!
    good luck tomorrow!!!

  17. Molly said

    Shit Ker!!!! I’m so glad you’re ok. OMG my heart is racing reading this – you were sooo protected!

  18. Marci said

    I am so glad you are okay! Sending lots of good thoughts your way that everything looks perfect with the bab(ies)!

  19. safy said

    OMG How scary! I’m SO glad you’re ok. I can’t wait to read an update about how baby is doing.

Leave a Reply

