I’m 5 weeks and 3 days pregnant today!

August 27, 2008

Another day, another update.  =)

I got an email from babycenter.com that is telling me that now that I’m (over) 5 weeks, our baby is the size of a apple seed, and he/she looks more like a little tadpole than a human.  The exciting news this week is that our little apple seed’s brain is beginning to grow!  A biology refresher for everyone – the brain develops from the neural tube, the structure that will soon sprout our baby’s spinal cord, nerves, and backbone.  The baby is now made up into three layers:  the ectoderm (that houses the skin, hair, nails, sweat glands, and tooth enamel), the mesoderm (where the heart and circulatory system lay, as well as the baby’s muscles, cartilage, bone, and tissue), and the endoderm (where the lungs, intestines, thyroid, liver, and pancreas are). 

This week, our baby’s heart will begin to divide into chambers and beat and pump blood – we cannot wait to see that (T minus 13 days)!!!!  The placenta and umbilical cord are already working, delivering food and oxygen to our little one – I hope he/she enjoyed that Baconator!  Eeesh.  I need to start eating a little more healthy, don’t I?

I’ve been told that I should eat what sounds good when I feel like it, at least for the first trimester, since I don’t feel like eating most of the time – fine by me!  Milkshakes and burgers it is!  I’m only kidding, I actually managed some fruits and veggies today, which is a miracle, considering that neither one of those things sounded good to me before today.

I’ll write more later, I’m certain I need to get some work done today…

…but before I forget – a BIG CONGRATS to my friends, Molly and Catherine (both formerly infertile), who just found out this week that they are both having little GIRLS!!!!!

Kerry

6 Responses to “I’m 5 weeks and 3 days pregnant today!”

  1. Tara said

    Dude, eat what you crave. Seriously. All I wanted with Ryan was cheese, beefaroni, cake, and tuna. I don’t even LIKE cheese. And really, beyond the obvious, she turned out alright. 🙂

  2. Beth M said

    Yeah, I mean, Christian turned out ok and I ate more maple glazed donuts than anyone thought possible…..and then with Lil’ there were the damned Spoonbenders….

    😀

  3. Katie said

    Seriously – I hate cheese and I have eaten SO MUCH. I also am at 35+ weeks and have only gained 20 lbs so all of the milkshakes and ice cream early on didn’t do much damage (of course I can’t have them now). My first trimester was all about Egg McMuffins and Hi-C orange drink – and prior to that the last time I ate at McDonalds was in 2000.

  4. Debbie said

    Hey!! Congrats to you and Jeff. I am so happy for you two. Sorry, I didn’t write sooner been crazy with family in town etc. Can’t wait to hear what you are having. Don’t stress about your eating habits! I ate the Sonic Chili cheese dog meal with the tater tots and a milkshake once a week. To think I couldn’t understand why I gained 50 pounds! LOL He was a healthy little man. I craved steaks, milk shakes and cereal with the girls. CONGRATS!!

  5. Catherine J said

    How excitign to think how big your little one is all of a sudden. Before you know it, you will be watching the littlel heartbeat on that ultrasound screen!

  6. ciska said

    hi, im 5weeks and 3days now. so excited. im so so hungry everyday, i wil eat something now, and 20min later my stomach is growling. why is that? am i not eating enough? cant wait to see my little angel. congrats on everyone else and there little ones.

Leave a Reply

